請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533

與哀傷的兒童共同處理假期和特殊週年

與哀傷的兒童共同處理假期和特殊週年

Holidays and special anniversaries can be very difficult for grieving children, especially during the first year. 假期和週年一方面讓人想起喪親之痛,一方面也讓人想起對逝者的愉快回憶。有時候對兒童會很困難,看著別人享受假期,但假期對他們來講只會帶給他們空虛的感受。而對於假期的期待往往比假期本身還要更糟。

重要的是要讓失去親人的兒童事先知道,他們可能會在假期或週年經歷一些痛苦的感覺。事先與他們一起規劃方法讓這些日子變得更能忍受,也會有所幫助。可以對於一向包括他們親人在內的假期規矩做些改變,並制定新的規矩。

母親節和父親節對於失去一名父母的兒童而言可能會感到特別困難。例如,他們可能會選擇一位「代理母親」,帶他們參加母親節慶祝活動。他們也可能會選擇透過拜祭墓地,或去一個他們與他們的父母有美好回憶的特殊地方,以紀念他們失去的親人。

隨著逝者的第一個週年紀念日的接近,兒童往往會發現自己非常強烈地重溫他們親人生前的最後日子。在此週年紀念日期間,兒童往往需要額外的一再保證和支持。他們生命中的大人與他們分享自己關於週年紀念日的感受以及關於逝者的回憶,也同樣十分重要。

兒童往往會選擇慶祝他們已逝親人的生日。他們可能會為他們已逝的親人製作生日禮物,或烘烤蛋糕並點上生日蠟燭。慶祝活動可能包括分享過去與他們的親人一起慶祝生日的回憶。拜祭墓地或許是一種特殊的方式,讓兒童向他們已逝的親人說生日快樂。其他的假期也可以採用同樣的方式紀念 - 透過贈送禮物、分享對逝者的回憶,並制定特殊的規矩。

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.

Handling Holidays and Special Anniversaries with Grieving Children

Handling Holidays and Special Anniversaries with Grieving Children

Holidays and special anniversaries can be very difficult for grieving children, especially during the first year. Holidays and anniversaries serve both as a reminder of the loss and of pleasant memories of the deceased. It is sometimes difficult for children to watch others enjoy the holiday when for them it just brings up the void they feel. Often, the anticipation of the holiday is worse than the holiday itself.

It is important to let a bereaved child know in advance that he/she might experience some painful feelings during the holiday or anniversary. It is also helpful to plan in advance ways to make these events more tolerable. Holiday rituals that included the child's loved ones could be altered and new rituals developed.

Mother’s and Father’s Day can be particularly difficult for a child who has lost a parent. He'she may choose a “substitute mother” to take to a Mother’s Day celebration, for example. They also may choose to commemorate their loss by visiting the cemetery or visiting a special place where they have positive memories of their parent.

As the first anniversary of the death approaches, children often find themselves reliving very intensely the last days of their loved one’s life. Children often need extra reassurance and support during this anniversary. It is also important that the adults in their life share their own feelings about the anniversary and memories about the deceased.

Children often choose to celebrate the birthday of their deceased loved one. They might make a birthday gift for their deceased loved one, or bake a cake and light birthday candles. The celebration could include sharing memories about past birthdays with their loved one. A visit to the cemetery might be a special way to allow a child to say happy birthday to their deceased loved one. Other holidays could be commemorated in the same way--by giving gifts, sharing memories of the deceased and developing special rituals.