請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533

讓他們開始表達:開啟「對話」 

討論醫療照護事前指示的男士們

一個世紀前,人們臨終時是在家中。所有掌握生死的醫藥都在醫師的黑色手提袋中。在過去50年,醫療技術已進步到幾乎能無限期延續生命。但代價是什麼?

我們在新聞看到當病人不能為自己作主時,若沒有留下明確療護指示所發生的一切。 或許由於這些痛苦的家庭所發生的故事,美國人一般傾向於 清楚說明自己的願望. Still, according to research, less than 30 percent of the population has put in writing what they do and do not want at the 生命末期

切莫等到危急狀況發生

請開始對話溝通,切莫等到危急狀況發生。當病人已無法向至親表達希望接受何種療護和自己所願接受或拒絕的「英雄式醫療處置方式」時,未明確表達的醫療照護決定可能會導致產生諸多的煩惱、痛苦以及天文數字費用。

讓您的至親一起參與

談論醫療照護事前指示的家庭

和至親深入、頻繁、輕鬆、正式地討論您的願望。切莫等到事情發生;先掌控局面。讓年輕一代和老一代的都共同參與討論。若有阻力,可慢慢處理,先將對話帶回主題;下次再談時或許會更有共識。如果能讓大家感到比較舒服的話,也可邀請宗教諮詢師或朋友加入討論。

網路上有許多相關資訊能告訴您如何以書面表達您的願望。不妨試試 agingwithdignity.org

相關文章:

醫療照護事前指示

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.

Get Them Talking: Start ‘The  Conversation' 

Men discussing advance directives

A century ago death happened at home. Everything medicine could do to keep you alive was found in the doctor’s black bag. In the last 50 years, medical technology has made it possible to keep someone alive virtually indefinitely. But at what cost?

We see in the news what can happen when people fail to leave thorough instructions on how they want to be cared for when they can’t speak for themselves. Perhaps because of those stories of anguished families, Americans are more likely to make their wishes known. Still, according to research, less than 30 percent of the population has put in writing what they do and do not want at the end of life.

Don't Wait for a Crisis

Have the conversation and don’t wait for a crisis. Leaving your healthcare decisions unknown can lead to anguish, pain and astronomical cost that can result when patients no longer can tell their loved ones what kind of care, which “heroic measures,” they would accept or reject.

Get Your Loved Ones Involved

A family talking about advance directives

Talk to your loved ones—briefly, in depth, frequently, lightly, seriously—about your wishes. And don’t wait for the subject to come up; take control. Include younger and older generations in the conversation. Take it slowly if there is resistance, but return to the topic; it might be easier next time. Include a religious adviser or friend if that would make the others more comfortable.

There is lots of online information about putting your wishes in writing. Try agingwithdignity.org.

Related Articles:

Advance Directives