請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533

改善您的醫療照護事前指示的7個溫馨建議

醫療照護事前指示的對話

建立醫療照護事前指示是確定您的生命末期遺願的重要步驟。醫療照護事前指示也稱為生前遺囑、醫療代理授權書、維持生命治療的醫囑等。醫療照護事前指示是,若您喪失認知意識後,旨在指導醫護人員如何進行療護的書面聲明。

如果您有醫療照護事前指示,那很好–您是這樣做的26%美國人之一。但並不是因為它是書面文件,就表示一定要遵守。

以下是保證您的醫療照護事前指示得到遵守的一些提示:

  1. 自我學習 生命末期醫療照護,例如復甦術和維持生命治療。這可以讓您深入了解您的選擇在將來會意味著什麼。 
  2. 選擇一位醫療代理人,大膽說出您的選擇。在您每次進入任何醫院或護理機構時,每次救護車接您時或前去新的醫療服務提供者時,須出示醫療照護事前指示。
  3. 與代理人和您的好友及家人分享並討論醫療照護事前指示。讓他們知道認真討論您的選擇很重要。
  4. 與您的醫生及其他醫療專業人士分享並討論您的醫療照護事前指示。如果您更換醫生或新增專科醫生,與醫療服務團隊的任何新成員討論您的醫療照護事前指示。
  5. 每年更新您的醫療照護事前指示。隨著時間的更迭,您對生命末期決定的想法會有所改變。 
  6. 與您的醫生確認,保證您的醫療記錄可反映出您已完成醫療照護事前指示以及在何處取得副本。 
  7. 讓您的醫療照護事前指示易於找到。在家中保留一份副本;給您的醫療保健代理人、家人及好友一份副本。有許多可以在線上儲存醫療照護事前指示的智慧型手機應用程式和網站,易於存取。若您變更您的醫療照護事前指示,在所有這些地方皆可以新的替換舊的醫療照護事前指示。

目標

您要確定,如果您無法表達時,您所愛和信任的人清楚您想要什麼。即使您的遺願已清楚表達,家人或醫生可僅堅持他們知道對您最好的結果,來變更您的醫療照護事前指示。確認每個人都清楚:醫療照護事前指示反應您意識清楚時所做的決定,您知道什麼最符合您的願望,且希望您的願望得到實現。

相關文章:

可開始生命末期對話的3個問題

阿兹海默症患者醫療照護事前指示

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.

7 Tips for Improving Your Advance Directive

Advance Directive Conversation

Creating an advance directive is an important step in defining your end-of-life wishes. Also known as a living will, healthcare power of attorney, physician orders for life-sustaining treatment and more, an advance directive is a written statement intended to guide medical staff on how to proceed with your care if you’re cognitively/mentally incapacitated.

If you have an advance directive, great—you’re among about 26 percent of Americans who do. But just because it’s written, doesn’t mean it will be followed.

Here are some tips to ensure your advance directive is followed:

  1. Educate yourself on end-of-life medical care, such as resuscitation and life-sustaining treatment. This will give you more insight into what your choices could mean one day. 
  2. Choose a healthcare surrogate with the boldness to speak up for you. An advance directive should be present every time you go to any hospital or nursing facility, every time an ambulance picks you up or you go to a new healthcare provider.
  3. Share and discuss your advance directive with that surrogate and your friends and family members. It’s important for them to know the thought process that went into your choices.
  4. Share and discuss your advance directive with your doctor and other medical professionals. If you change doctors or add specialists, discuss your advance directives with any new members of your healthcare team.
  5. Update your advance directive annually. Your feelings about end-of-life decisions can change over time. 
  6. Check with your doctor to ensure your medical record reflects that you have completed an advance directive, and where to find a copy. 
  7. Make your advance directive easy to find. Keep a copy at home; give copies to your healthcare surrogate, family members and friends. There are smartphone apps and websites that store your advance directive online so it’s always available. If you change your advance directive, replace the old with the new in all of these places.

The Goal

You want to ensure that the people you love and trust are clear on what you would want if you couldn’t speak for yourself. Even if your wishes are clearly stated, a family member or doctor could change the outcome of your advance directive simply by insisting that he or she knows best. Make sure everyone is clear: Advance directives reflect decisions made while you are mentally clear, that you know what’s best for you and that you expect your wishes to be followed.

Related Articles:

3 Questions Can Start the End-of-Life Conversation

Advance Directives for Alzheimer's Patients