請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533

安寧療護寵物視訪

有些人類做不到的事,動物卻可以

還記得1950年代的電視節目「靈犬萊西」嗎?那隻勇敢的牧羊犬拯救了她的家人和朋友,讓他們脫離深井、火場和其他各種險境。這部影集以戲劇手法演出在人類好友靈犬的協助下,安寧療護病患每天的生活經歷。

VITAS動物伙伴Bailey探訪VITAS病人

我們有許多 安寧療護服務地點 配置寵物探訪義工:由接受過訓練的愛心動物以及其主人接受訓練為任何可受惠的(從有閱讀障礙的小孩到災難受害人以及老人)人們提供慰藉和特殊友誼。安寧療護寵物義工會到療養院、生活輔助社區和私人住宅探訪病患。安寧療護寵物探訪讓病人暫時忘掉疾病,同時還可稍微解除人們的寂寞感。他們會讓病患(以及其他幸運的陪同者)重拾歡笑、心情更輕鬆,甚至會更健康。

寵物治療法越來越受到注意,也越來越廣為人使用,因為這類療法能為各種需求持續帶來重要的好處。這類療法甚至有個縮寫名詞:HAI;HAI(人類與動物關係)是研究寵物照護和身心健康之間的關聯。 

寵物探訪的好處包括:

  • 舒適療護
  • 追溯回憶
  • 鼓勵活動
  • 提供無條件的愛

醫療保健專家表示,在動物探訪期間及後續的時間,安寧療護病患明顯更有活力且較有回應。但是安寧療護團隊、病人和家屬不需要統計分析和研究,即可看到寵物帶來的改變是任何人為干預或藥物所無法達成的。

成為動物伙伴義工

VITAS動物伙伴Rogue

VITAS的寵物探訪計劃稱為「動物伙伴」計劃。VITAS會訓練友善且行為良好的寵物成為動物伙伴®。隨時由人類陪同 註冊VITAS動物伙伴義工隨時由人類陪同,知道如何探訪臨終病人,且可自在地待在醫療中心、住房設施及私人住宅。 

雖然多數VITAS動物伙伴是安寧療護服務狗,但依不同情況,VITAS也會考慮採用其他動物義工。所有可能擔任伙伴的義工及其人類同伴都必須經過篩選。

如果您希望用您的狗或其他寵物擔任義工,請 聯絡您當地的專案計畫 並了解您當地是否有VITAS動物伙伴 ,他們是否接受新義工的訓練或如何安排動物伙伴的探訪。

同時請參閱: 了解參加您附近VITAS安寧療護計劃並成為動物伙伴義工的資訊。

義工故事分享

動物伙伴義工及其主人都會喜歡與主人分享他們經歷的時刻。有位動物伙伴回憶到VITAS 安寧療護住院設施探訪::

「我順便到一位病患的病房,並向病患丈夫詢問,他太太是否願意讓我的喜樂蒂犬Pogo來探訪。」義工表示。「他表示他們從未養過任何動物,所以她太太應該沒有興趣。但我看得出她有興趣,因此我問是否可將狗放在她的床上。這位女士立刻以雙手抱著Pogo達15分鐘以上。她隔天就過世了。她丈夫後來表示這是他三年來第一次看到她的笑臉。他永遠記得她的笑容。這就是動物伙伴所做的事;他們為人們帶來希望。」

Pet Therapy in Hospice Care

Paw Pals<sup>®</sup> Hospice Volunteers

When Animals Do What People Can't

Remember “Lassie”? Each week on the 1950s TV show, the brave collie saved her family and friends from wells, fires and other dangers. The show demonstrated in dramatic fashion what hospice patients experience every day—the devotion of our four-legged friends.

Many of our hospice locations have what are known as therapy pets: loving animals—and their owners—who are trained to provide comfort and a special kind of friendship to anyone who can benefit, from a child struggling to read to disaster victims and the elderly. Hospice pet volunteers visit patients in nursing homes, assisted living communities and private homes. They offer a welcome distraction from illness and help people feel a little less lonely. They leave their patients—and anyone else lucky enough to be around—smiling, more relaxed, maybe even healthier.

The therapeutic use of pets has gained more attention and widespread acceptance as it continues to bring measurable benefits to all kinds of needs. It even has an acronym; HAI research (for human–animal interaction) is the study of the association between pet caregiving and physical and mental health. 

The benefits of pet therapy include:

  • Comfort care
  • Bringing back memories
  • Encourage activity
  • Providing unconditional love

Healthcare experts say that hospice patients are noticeably more active and responsive during and after animal visits. But pet therapists, hospice teams and families don’t need statistics and research to see that pets can bring about change that no amount of human intervention or medicine seems to accomplish.

Become A Paw Pal® Volunteer

At VITAS, the pet visit program is called Paw Pals. VITAS trains friendly, well-behaved pets to be Paw Pals. A registered VITAS Paw Pals volunteer, always accompanied by its human companion, knows how to visit patients near the end of life and is at ease in medical and residential facilities as well as private homes. 

Although most VITAS Paw Pals are dogs, other animal volunteers may be considered on a case-by-case basis. All potential volunteers, and their human companion, are screened.

Please contact your local program to find out if VITAS Paw Pals are available in your location, whether they are accepting new volunteers for training or how to arrange for a Paw Pals visit.

SEE ALSO: Get information on becoming a Paw Pals volunteer in a VITAS hospice program near you.

Volunteers Share Their Stories

Paw Pals volunteers, and their owners, love to tell stories of the moments they have played a part in. One Paw Pal owner recalled a visit to a VITAS inpatient hospice unit:

“I stopped at a patient’s room and asked the husband if his wife would like to have a visit with Pogo, my Shetland sheepdog,” the volunteer said. “He said they’d never had animals and he didn’t think she’d be interested. But I could see that she was interested, so I asked if I could just put the dog on her bed. The woman immediately put her arms around Pogo and held him for 15 minutes or more. She passed away the next day. Her husband later said that it was the first time in three years he had seen her smile. He has that memory of her smiling. That’s what pet therapy does; it brings hope to people.”

Adjust Font Size