請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533

針對肺病患者的安寧療護

針對肺病患者的安寧療護

如果您正在閱讀本頁,也許您或您的某位至親好友已在與慢性阻塞性肺病(COPD)或如支氣管擴張症、慢性氣喘、肺部纖維化、囊腫纖維症或肺結核等其他類型的肺病進行一場身心俱乏的奮戰。當您決定不再接受治療或呼吸照護時,您仍不會停求尋求緩和病痛、支持和解答。減少或停止醫療照護對整個家庭都造成影響。這正是VITAS能提供協助之時。

何時為尋求安寧療護的適當時機?

看到患有肺病的親人日漸衰退之時,要確定接受安寧療護的適合時機可能相當困難。一般而言,安寧療護病人的生命期被認定為六個月或更短。只有醫生可以做預估生命期的臨床判定。  但是,當肺病病人逐漸失去自主呼吸的能力,且病情每況愈下時,病人及其家屬很可能會受惠於 安寧療護服務

一般而言,當病人有下列情況時便可能需要安寧療護了:

  • 每隔幾個月就因呼吸衰竭或肺部感染而需要反覆奔波於急診室
  • 每隔幾個月就需反覆住院且不希望再住院
  • 不希望再接受氣管插管

病人的肺科醫師或個人醫師可以適時推薦安寧療護。但是,病人和家屬往往得自行要求才能獲得他們所需的療護。您、您的摯愛或您的醫師可要求進行評估,看看安寧療護是否是療護方面一項適當的選擇。請致電866.418.4827,了解安寧療護服務如何幫助您。

-- 返回頁首--

安寧療護能為肺病患者做些什麼?

您的安寧療護團隊會評估病人的狀況,並隨著症狀和病情的變化而更新療護計劃,甚至是基於每日的情況而定。安寧療護的目標是減輕身體上和情緒上的痛苦,使病人可以維護自身尊嚴並感到舒適放心。

安寧療護可為患有肌萎縮性脊髓側索硬化症的病人提供完善的服務:

  • 備急呼吸計劃 - 肺病患者通常會有一個最關心的事:如果他們不能呼吸會發生什麼狀況?安寧療護團隊研擬出個別計劃,詳細規劃呼吸窘迫時的具體處理程序。該計劃是為了能夠在家中控制嚴重症狀而設計的。此備急計劃能讓病人及其家屬安心並有掌控感和安全感。
  • 減少呼吸窘迫的發生 - 療護計劃包括一些醫療和非醫療的方法,可減少呼吸窘迫的發生及由此導致的焦慮。
  • 迅速因應呼吸窘迫 - VITAS安寧療護團隊的成員會隨時待命,以便病患發生呼吸窘迫時能給予協助。
  • 照護病人,無論他們住在何處 - 在他們家中,長期照護機構或生活輔助社區。如果症狀嚴重到無法在家處理時,住院安寧療護服務可以提供全天候的療護,直至病人能夠返回家中。
  • 每個層級都互相合作的療護 - 經病患肺科醫師或其他醫師同意並採取其建議所研擬的療護計劃。一名團隊經理將確保所有醫師、護士、社工以及神職人員(視病人要求)之間的資訊溝通順暢。 此外,安寧療護會統籌協調並供應與診斷病況相關的所有藥物、 醫療需用品和醫療設備, 以確保患者可以得到他們所需要的一切。
  • 情緒與靈性方面的輔助 - 安寧療護提供資源以幫助病人維持他們 在情緒上與靈性上的健康

-- 返回頁首--

安寧療護能為肺病患者的家人做些什麼?

家人可能不得不作出艱難的醫療照護和財務方面的決定、要充當照顧者並為其他人提供情緒支持。如果已經作出要停止呼吸支持的決定,家人會經歷強烈的情緒波動並感覺不堪重負。

安寧療護為肺病末期患者家屬提供完善服務包括:

  • 照顧者教育和訓練 - 家庭照顧者 在協助安寧療護專業人員對病人的療護方面至關重要。隨著病人日漸虛弱,症狀會隨之加重並且溝通變得更加困難。我們教育家屬如何把家人照顧得最好,以減輕他們的憂慮。
  • 協助作出艱難的決定 - 安寧療護協助家屬作出影響病人的情況和生活品質的艱難抉擇 - 例如,是否針對重覆性感染施以抗生素。
  • VITAS護士24/7全天候接聽電話 - 即使是最有經驗的照顧著也會有疑問和顧慮。 使用 Telecare®,他們便無需猜測、擔心或等待答覆。VITAS永不休診的Telecare提供訓練有素的安寧療護臨床醫事人員全天候醫療支援,回答問題或派遣團隊人員到病人床邊服務。 
  • 情緒與靈性方面的輔助 - 安寧療護提供資源以幫助病人維持他們 在情緒上與靈性上的健康
  • 經濟援助 - 儘管安寧療護的服務 由聯邦醫療保險、州政府醫療保險/加州醫療保險 和私人保險承保,但是家屬往往會因親人的重症而造成經濟困難。社工在安寧療護期間可以協助家屬進行財務規劃並找尋經濟援助。在病人過世後,如果有需要,他們可以透過人力服務幫助哀慟的家屬找尋經濟援助。
  • 喘息療護 - 照護患有末期疾病的至親好友可能會產生巨大的壓力。 當照顧者需要休息時, 安寧療護可對病人 提供長達五天的住院照護,以便給予照顧著短暫的休息。
  • 喪慟服務 - 安寧療護團隊 可以幫助失去摯愛的人, 在病人過世後提供長達一年的服務,幫助他們以個人的方式表達和因應哀傷。

-- 返回頁首--

安寧療護的整體效益為何?

如果您或至親好友正面臨局限生命的疾病,您可能有聽過安寧療護這個說法。朋友或家人可能曾告訴過您,關於針對患者提供的專科醫療或為其至親好友提供的支持服務。但是大多數人並沒有意識到安寧療護還有許多其他好處。

舒適放心。  安寧療護與病人和家屬合作,提供他們支持和資源,以協助他們走過生命裡艱困的一程,並幫助他們待在舒適且熟悉的環境裡。

個別關注照護。  安寧療護團隊與病人和家屬合作時,會成為生命末期過程的參與者,這種過程對任何人來說,都是屬於最私人的經歷。 安寧療護的使命就是以每個人所希望的方式為其提供照護。  我們傾聽病人和他們至親好友的心聲。 我們也為其發聲。 我們努力改善他們的生活品質。

減少再次住院。  在生命的最後幾個月裡,有些重症病人常常需奔波於急診室中;其他病人則承受一再住院的過程。 安寧療護減少再次住院:一項關於住在療養院的末期病人的研究顯示,有加入安寧療護的病人相較於未加入者,很可能在生命的最後30天不需住院(比例為24%:44%)1.

安全感。  安寧療護最大的好處之一,就是知道當您需要時您隨時都可以獲得醫療支持的安全感。VITAS Telecare計劃確保您能獲得全天候的醫療支援。 此外,VITAS還可為家屬提供所需的訓練、資源和支持,使他們能細心照顧虛弱的至親。

1Miller SC, Gozalo P, Mor V.《療養院臨終病患的加入安寧療護與住院》(Hospice enrollment and hospitalization of dying nursing home patients)。 《美國醫學期刊》(American Journal of Medicine)2001;111(1):38-44。

-- 返回頁首--

我該如何與至親好友討論安寧療護?

在生命的最後幾個月和幾天常會出現強烈的情緒和難以做出的決定。要談論安寧療護可能很不容易,即使和您最親密的人談也是如此。  這裡提供幾個進入討論的提示。

當病人和家屬討論時

教育是關鍵所在。  首先要教育自己。 您現在可能已經在這個網站上做了些研究。 了解一些關於生命末期療護常見的誤解可能對您也有幫助,因為您的家人或許接收到關於安寧療護實際情況的錯誤訊息。 請觀看我們關於化解安寧療護的迷思的影片。 如需閱讀和分享「考慮安寧療護:家人研討指南」(Considering Hospice: A Discussion Guide for Families),請至 HospiceCanHelp.com

確認您的至親好友知道些什麼。  在提出安寧療護之前,先確定您的至親好友都清楚了解您的健康狀況。 人們在處理難以接受的訊息時,各有不同的方式。 如果家屬不肯接受或不了解您的預後,您可能希望由您的醫師、神職人員或者信任的友人代表您去和他們談。

討論您,也討論他們對未來的目標。  身為病人,您最關心的可能是在生活中免除疼痛,或者待在家裡,或是不要成為負擔。 詢問親人在考慮未來數月、數週和數天時的打算時,他們關心哪些事情。 解釋安寧療護並不意味著放棄, 而是一項確保滿足人人需求的積極抉擇。

採取主動。  記住,是否要表達自己的意願全在於您。有時候您的家人或至親好友因顧及到您的感受,可能不願意提起安寧療護這個議題。

當家屬和病人討論時

教育是關鍵所在。  首先要教育自己。 您現在可能已經在這個網站上做了些研究。 了解一些關於生命末期療護常見的誤解可能對您也有幫助,因為您的家人或許接收關於安寧療護實際情況的錯誤訊息。 請觀看我們關於化解安寧療護的迷思的影片。 如需閱讀和分享「考慮安寧療護:家人研討指南」(Considering Hospice: A Discussion Guide for Families),請至 HospiceCanHelp.com

取得允許。  取得允許以討論難以啟口的議題是向您的至親好友保證您會尊重他或她的意願並加以執行。可以像是這麼說:「這場病看來會繼續,我們一起來聊聊如何能確保持續讓你獲得最好的醫護和照顧。 這樣好不好?」

確認什麼對您的至親而言是最重要的?  請他們想想未來:「在未來的幾個月、幾週或幾天裡,你有什麼希望。 你最掛心的是什麼?」病人可能會表達想要活得舒適、待在家裡,或是不要成為負擔。

將安寧療護當作滿足病人意願的一種方式來談。  既然您的至親已說出他或她認為最重要的事,解釋安寧療護是確保實現其意願和希望的一種方式。 對有些人來說,安寧這個字眼會讓人想到放棄的這個錯誤觀念。 解釋安寧療護並不是對疾病或死亡的投降。 這事關讓他們在剩餘的幾個月、幾週或幾天裡享有生活品質。

向病人保證是由他/她決定一切。  安寧療護提供病人選擇:選擇待在他們自己家裡的舒適環境中、選擇依他們的意願盡量善加利用情緒和靈性支持、選擇讓他們自己的醫師積極參與他們的療護。 向您的至親再度保證,您將讓他們有權選擇什麼是生命中最重要的事。

做個善於聆聽的人。  請記住,這是一場對話而不是辯論。 傾聽對方所說的話。 了解第一次提起安寧療護時遭到抗拒是很正常的。 但如果您能傾聽並了解您的至親抗拒安寧療護的障礙和理由,您將能準備好在未來討論到生命末期療護時,解決和減輕他們的顧慮。

如欲了解更多詳情,請以下列方式聯絡我們:

-- 返回頁首--

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.

Hospice Care for Lung Disease Patients

Hospice Care for Lung Disease Patients

If you are reading this, it is likely you or someone you love has been waging a difficult physical and emotional battle against COPD or another form of lung disease, such as bronchiectasis, chronic asthma, pulmonary fibrosis, cystic fibrosis or tuberculosis. Your search for comfort, support and answers does not stop when you decide to discontinue treatment or respiratory support. Reducing or discontinuing medical support has an effect on the whole family. That’s when VITAS can help.

When is the right time to ask about hospice?

Watching a loved one with lung disease decline, it can be difficult to determine when it might be time for hospice. In general, hospice patients are thought to have six months or less to live. Only a doctor can make a clinical determination of life expectancy.  However, when a patient with lung disease becomes increasingly concerned about his or her ability to breathe and declining condition, both the patient and family are likely to benefit from hospice services.

In general, hospice may be beneficial when the patient:

  • Has made repeated trips every few months to the emergency room for respiratory failure or lung infections
  • Has been repeatedly hospitalized every few months and no longer wishes to be hospitalized
  • No longer wishes to be intubated

The patient’s pulmonologist or personal physician may recommend hospice when the time is right. But patients and family members often must act as their own advocates to receive the care they need. You, your loved one or your physician may request an evaluation to see if hospice is an appropriate option for care. Call 866.418.4827 to see how hospice can help.

-- Back to Top --

What can hospice do for a patient with lung disease?

Your hospice team evaluates the patient’s status and updates the plan of care as symptoms and condition change, even on a day-to-day basis. The goal of hospice is to relieve physical and emotional distress so patients can retain their dignity and remain comfortable.

Hospice offers comprehensive services for patients with ALS:

  • A pre-emergency breathing plan – People with lung disease typically have one primary concern: what will happen if they can’t breathe? The hospice team develops an individual plan that details specific interventions for respiratory distress. The plan is designed to bring severe symptoms under control at home. This pre-emergency plan gives patients and their families peace of mind and a sense of control and security.
  • Reduced episodes of respiratory distress – The plan of care includes medical and nonmedical methods of reducing episodes of respiratory distress and the anxiety they cause.
  • Quick response to respiratory distress – At VITAS, a member of the hospice team is available around the clock to assist when an episode of respiratory distress occurs.
  • Care for patients wherever they live in their homes, long term care facilities or assisted living communities. If symptoms become too difficult to manage at home, inpatient hospice services can provide round-the-clock care until the patient is able to return home.
  • Coordinated care at every level – A plan of care is developed with the advice and consent of the patient’s pulmonologist or other physician. A team manager ensures that information flows between all physicians, nurses, social workers and, at the patient’s request, clergy. In addition, hospice coordinates and supplies all medications, medical supplies and medical equipment related to the diagnosis to ensure patients have everything they need.
  • Emotional and spiritual assistance – Hospice has the resources to help patients maintain their emotional and spiritual well-being.

-- Back to Top --

What can hospice do for the family of a patient with lung disease?

Family members may have to make difficult healthcare and financial decisions, act as caregivers and provide emotional support to others. If the decision is made to stop respiratory support, families experience strong emotions and feel overwhelmed.

Hospice offers comprehensive services for families of patients with end-stage lung disease:

  • Caregiver education and training – The family caregiver is vital in helping hospice professionals care for the patient. As the patient gets weaker, symptoms increase and communication becomes more difficult. We relieve families’ concerns by educating them on how best to care for their loved one.
  • Help with difficult decisions – Hospice helps families make tough choices that impact the patient’s condition and quality of life—for example, whether or not to give antibiotics for a recurring infection.
  • A VITAS nurse by phone 24/7 – Even the most experienced caregivers will have questions and concerns. With Telecare®, they don’t have to wonder, worry or wait for an answer. The heartbeat of VITAS after hours, Telecare provides trained hospice clinicians around the clock to answer questions or dispatch a member of the team to the bedside. 
  • Emotional and spiritual assistance – Hospice has the resources to help patients maintain their emotional and spiritual well-being.
  • Financial assistance – Although hospice services are covered by Medicare, Medicaid/Medi-Cal and private insurers, families may have financial concerns brought about by their loved one’s extensive illness. Social workers can assist families with financial planning and finding financial assistance during hospice care. After a death, they can help grieving families find financial assistance through human services, if needed.
  • Respite care – Caring for a loved one with an end-stage illness can cause tremendous stress. Hospice offers up to five days of inpatient care for the patient in order to give the caregiver a break.
  • Bereavement services The hospice team works with surviving loved ones for a full year after a death to help them express and cope with their grief in their own way.

-- Back to Top --

What are the overall benefits of hospice care?

If you or a loved one is facing a life-limiting illness, you may have heard the term hospice. Friends or family might have told you about the specialized medical care for patients or the support services for loved ones. But most people are unaware of the many other benefits of hospice.

Comfort.  Hospice works with patients and families to give them the support and resources to assist them through this challenging chapter of life and help them remain in comfortable and familiar surroundings.

Personal attention.  When the hospice team works with a patient or family, they become participants in the end-of-life process, a very personal experience for any individual. The hospice mission is to care for each person individually.  We listen to patients and loved ones. We advocate for them. We work to improve their quality of life.

Reduced rehospitalization.  In the last months of life, some people who are seriously ill make frequent trips to the emergency room; others endure repeated hospitalizations. Hospice care reduces rehospitalization: a study of terminally ill residents in nursing homes shows that residents enrolled in hospice are much less likely to be hospitalized in the final 30 days of life than those not enrolled in hospice (24% vs. 44%)1.

Security.  One of the greatest benefits of hospice is the security that comes from knowing that medical support is available whenever you need it. The VITAS Telecare program assures healthcare support around the clock. And VITAS gives families the training, resources and support they need to give their ailing loved ones the care they deserve.

1Miller SC, Gozalo P, Mor V. Hospice enrollment and hospitalization of dying nursing home patients. American Journal of Medicine 2001;111(1):38-44

-- Back to Top --

How can I approach the hospice discussion with my loved one(s)?

The final months and days of life are frequently marked by strong emotions and hard decisions. Talking about hospice, even with those closest to you, can be difficult.  Here are some tips to get the discussion going.

For patients speaking to families

Education is key.  Educate yourself first. By now, you’ve probably done some research on this website. It might also be helpful for you to learn some common misconceptions about end-of-life care, as your family may be misinformed about the realities of hospice. View our video on dispelling hospice myths. Read and share "Considering Hospice: A Discussion Guide for Families" at

Determine what your loved ones know.  Before bringing up hospice, make sure your loved ones have a clear understanding of your health status. People handle difficult information in different ways. If family members are not accepting or understanding of your prognosis, you might want to have your physician, clergy or a trusted friend speak with them on your behalf.

Discuss your goals for the future, as well as theirs.  As a patient, your greatest concern might be to live without pain, or to stay at home or not to be a burden. Ask your loved ones what their concerns are when they consider the coming months, weeks and dayhs. Explain that hospice is not giving up. It is an active choice to ensure that everyone’s needs are met.

Take initiative.  Remember, it’s up to you to express your wishes. Sometimes, out of concern for your feelings, your family or loved ones might be reluctant to raise the issue of hospice care for you.

For families speaking to patients

Education is key.  Educate yourself first. By now, you’ve probably done some research on this website. It might also be helpful for you to learn some common misconceptions about end-of-life care, as your loved one may be misinformed about the realities of hospice. View our video on dispelling hospice myths. Read and share "Considering Hospice: A Discussion Guide for Families" at

Ask permission.  Asking permission to discuss a difficult topic assures your loved one that you will respect his or her wishes and honor them. Say something like, “I would like to talk about how we can continue to ensure you get the very best care and attention as your condition progresses. Is that okay?”

Determine what is important to your loved one.  Ask him or her to consider the future: “What are you hoping for in the coming months, weeks or days? What are you most concerned about?” The patient might express a desire to be comfortable, to stay at home or to not become a burden.

Discuss hospice care as a means of fulfilling the patient’s wishes.  Now that your loved one has told you what is important to him or her, explain that hospice is a way of making sure wishes and desires are met. For some, the word hospice evokes a false notion of giving up. Explain that hospice is not about surrendering to disease or death. It is about bringing quality of life to the patient’s remaining months, weeks or days.

Assure the patient that he/she is in control.  Hospice gives patients options: the option to remain in the comfort of their own home, the option to take advantage of as much emotional and spiritual support as they desire, the option to have their own doctor actively involved in their care. Reassure your loved one that you will honor his or her right to make choices about what is most important in life.

Be a good listener.  Keep in mind that this is a conversation, not a debate. Hear what the other person is saying. Know that it is normal to encounter resistance the first time you talk about hospice care. But if you listen and understand your loved one’s barriers and reasons for resisting, you will be prepared to address and ease his/her concerns in your next hospice discussion.

Here's how to contact us to learn more:

-- Back to Top --