請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533

針對癌症病人的安寧療護

針對癌症患者的安寧療護

即使醫師竭盡其力,病人也非常努力,而家人也投入愛的支援,但有時候,癌症治療仍然無效,以致達到治癒或長期紓解都不再可能。這個時候,安寧療護可發揮極大功能。安寧療護確保癌症病人得到照顧及支援,並且由他們深愛的人及事物所相伴。安寧療護不一定會延長癌症病人的生命,但是可為病人在最後幾個月,幾週或幾天的生命中,增加生活品質。

什麼時候是採用安寧療護的最適當時機?

「我希望我早點知道安寧療護就好了,」是這些照顧罹患癌症家人的許多人的共同想法。雖然只有病人的腫瘤科醫師或主治醫師才可開立安寧療護評估的醫囑,但是病人越早入住安寧療護,病人及其家屬就越能享用更多的福利。安寧療護最常見的錯誤觀念之一,是它只適合在病人生命的最後幾天或幾週內。事實上,聯邦醫療保險安寧療護福利是提供給預後或預估生命期在六個月或以下的病人。

針對癌症病人的安寧療護

閱讀詳情: 高品質的安寧療護需要時間成就

只有醫生才能對癌症病人的預後做出臨床決定。當預後在六個月或以下時,病人才會被認定為晚期癌症,才可受惠於 安寧療護服務。雖然每位病人都不一樣,並且因為其所患癌症的不同而有不同的症狀,但是癌症病人都有幾種相同的癥兆,意味著疾病已經惡化到晚期階段:

  • 病人急速衰弱、惡性腫瘤擴散時
  • 治療無法完全發揮效用時
  • 加在病人及家屬身上的治療重擔超過可能獲得的好處時

閱讀詳情: 安寧療護的常見問答

安寧療護如何幫助癌症病人?

研究顯示,使用安寧療護服務的癌症病人及其家屬,其生活品質較沒有使用者理想。1由專業人員組成的療護團隊為病人提供安寧療護服務。該團隊以病人及病人的照顧者及其他家屬的角度來看待晚期癌症。這個團隊包括醫師、護士、安寧療護護佐、社工、靈性輔導師、義工,以及喪慟專家等。

閱讀詳情: 安寧療護剛開始幾天時的注意事項

在美國約有40%尋求安寧療護服務的病人屬於晚期癌症患者。2接受安寧療護的癌症病人都十分欣慰,知道他們在這段過程中將不致踽踽獨行,並且也了解安寧療護團隊的每位成員,對幫助病人渡過此疾病的最艱難階段都極具經驗。

癌症病人根據他們個別的健康問題,以及他們所願意或不願意接受的醫療項目來獲得照護。 您的狀態將會定期受到評估,您的療護計劃也會隨著您 症狀和病情的改變而不斷更新以符合您的需要,甚至是基於每日的情況而定。

安寧療護為癌症病人提供以下的服務:

  • 每個層級都共同協作的療護 - 療護計劃係在病人的腫瘤科醫師或其他醫師的建議和同意之下,共同研擬得出。在每週會議中,團隊會檢討病人的的身體、心理和精神狀況,以及家屬可能提出的任何需求或疑慮。 此外,安寧療護會統籌協調並供應與病況診斷相關的所有藥物、 醫療用品和醫療設備 ,以確保病人可以獲得他們所需的一切。
  • 疼痛處理和症狀控制 - 安寧療護專於確保病人感到舒適、免遭疼痛,且儘量能享受生活和繼續掌控日常決策。 如果症狀惡化, 持續性療護 則將啟用,亦即輪值人員提供24小時照護,直到症狀獲得控制為止。
  • 情緒與靈性方面的輔助 - 癌症末期的診斷可造成強烈的情緒浮出表面,同時也可能會引發許多靈性上的疑問。 安寧療護提供資源以幫助病人維持他們 情緒上與靈性上的健康
  • 病人稱為家之所在皆可提供服務 - VITAS為病人提供照護,無論他們是住在 - 他們家中、長期療護機構或是生活輔助社區。 如果症狀嚴重到無法在家處理時, 住院安寧療護服務 可提供全天候的照護,直至病人能夠返回家中為止。

閱讀詳情: 什麼是安寧療護?

-- 返回頁首--

安寧療護如何幫助癌症病人的家屬?

安寧療護可以幫助癌症病人

照顧患有癌症的家人往往在情緒上及體力上都十分辛苦。家庭照顧者可能不得不做出艱難的醫療和財務決策,還必須對其他人提供感情上的支持。停止醫療處置的決定可造成強烈的情緒反應;家人會感到無法接受。安寧療護以幾種方式關懷家屬:

  • 照顧者教育及訓練 -家庭照顧者 在協助安寧療護團隊對病人的照護中至關重要。隨著症狀增加以及溝通變得困難之際,安寧療護可經由教育家屬關於未來的發展及如何照顧其摯愛,來紓緩他們的疑慮。
  • 協助做出困難抉擇 - 安寧療護團隊協助家屬,做出對病人的病情及生活品質有重大影響的困難抉擇。
  • 情緒與靈性方面的支持 - 照顧者保持其情緒的穩定,但他們也需要一個可以抒發感覺的途經。安寧療護藉由提供外來資源、聆聽、撫慰等等,提供支持給照顧病人的人。
  • 經濟援助 - 雖然安寧療護服務有受到 聯邦醫療保險、州政府醫療保險/加州醫療保險 和私人保險的承保,但是家屬往往會因親人的重症而有經濟上的顧慮。社工在安寧療護期間可以協助家屬進行財務規劃並找尋經濟援助。在病人過世後,如果有需要,他們可以透過人力服務幫助哀慟的家屬找尋經濟援助。
  • 喘息療護 - 照顧患有末期疾病的摯愛可造成巨大的壓力。 當照顧者必須離開時, 住院安寧療護 可提供多達五天的照顧服務。
  • 喪慟服務 - 安寧療護團隊 可以幫助失去摯愛的人, 在長達13個月的服務期間,幫助他們以個人的方式表達和因應哀傷。

-- 返回頁首--

安寧療護的整體效益為何?

無論您已知道安寧療護,或正在尋找相關資訊,您可能對於癌症病人及其家屬可獲得的安寧療護福利,尚沒有全面的了解。如果您或您的摯愛目前正處於晚期癌症階段,安寧療護可提供:

舒適和個人化的關懷。 安寧療護在病人及其家屬此艱難的生命階段中,提供他們一對一的照顧和支持。我們聆聽。我們維護您的福祉。我們致力於改善生活品質。

減少再次住院。 隨著疾病惡化,症狀可能日益嚴重;許多病人必須經常前往急診室或必須不斷地進出醫院。安寧療護透過在病人的家中控制疼痛和症狀,以降低再住院的次數。

安全感。 安寧療護最大的好處之一,是您可在需要時,隨時獲得臨床協助。VITAS Telecare® 確保全天候的臨床協助。且VITAS對家屬提供能為其摯愛的生活貢獻一己之力所需的訓練及資源。

-- 返回頁首--

我該如何啟口討論安寧療護?

討論臨終問題十分困難。以下為開啟這項話題的一些小提示。

當病人和家屬討論時:

教育是關鍵所在。 儘量先弄清楚安寧療護的服務內容,以免讓家人感到懼怕。《考慮安寧療護:家人研討指南》(Considering Hospice: A Discussion Guide for Families)是個好資源,請前往 HospiceCanHelp.com。您也可以在我們的「什麼是安寧療護」系列中了解安寧療護的基本知識。

確認您的家人知道些什麼。 在提出安寧療護之前,先確認您的家人對您的健康狀況與預後都清楚了解。人們在處理難以接受的訊息時,各有不同的方式。如果家人無法接受或了解您的預後,您可能必須請一位受到信賴的醫師、信仰領袖或朋友代您與他們討論。

討論您對未來的目標以及他們對未來的目標。 身為病人,您最關心的可能是在生活中免除疼痛,或者待在家裡,或是不要成為負擔。詢問您的摯愛,他們在未來幾天、幾週和幾個月中所關心的是什麼。 向他們說明, 安寧療護並非放棄,而是一項確保每個人的需要都可獲得滿足的積極抉擇。

採取主動。 記住,是否要表達自己的意願全在於您。有時候基於您對摯愛的感受,您可能不願意提起安寧療護這項議題。

當家屬和病人討論時:

儘量了解安寧療護。 在您向摯愛提出這項話題之前,先教育自己了解安寧療護及服務的內容。重症病人對安寧療護的不確定性實屬正常。他們可能對它有錯誤的觀念。 參閱在 HospiceCanHelp.com 上提供的《考慮安寧療護:研討指南》(Considering Hospice: A Discussion Guide),將有助您找出開啟這項話題的最佳方法。

取得允許。 先取得允許才討論難以啟口的議題,是向您的摯愛保證,您將尊重他或她的意願並確實執行。可以像是這麼說:「這場病看來會繼續,我們一起來聊聊如何能確保持續讓你獲得最好的醫護和照顧。這樣好不好?」

確認什麼對您的至親而言是最重要的? 請他或她想想未來:「對未來幾天、幾週或幾個月的希望是什麼?什麼是你最大的顧慮?」 病人可能會表示,希望不要有痛苦,可以 待在家中 或不希望成為負擔。

將安寧療護當作滿足病人意願的一種方式來談。 在您的摯愛告訴您他們認為重要的事項之後,請向他們解釋安寧療護是確保能達到這些希望及願望的方法。對有些人來說,安寧這個字眼會讓人想到放棄的這個錯誤觀念。 解釋 安寧療護並不意味著 向癌症或死亡投降。而是為他們在剩餘的幾天、幾週或幾個月裡帶來生活品質。

向病人保證是由他們決定一切。 安寧療護提供病人選擇:選擇待在他們自己家裡的舒適環境中、選擇善加利用情緒和靈性支持、選擇讓他們自己的醫師積極參與他們的療護、選擇按照自己的意願生活。向您的摯愛再度保證,您將尊重他們對於他們視為重要事項的選擇。

做個善於聆聽的人。 請記住,這是一場對話而不是辯論。傾聽對方所說的話。了解第一次提起安寧療護時遭到抗拒是很正常的。但如果您能傾聽並了解您摯愛對安寧療護抗拒的理由,您將能在下一次討論到安寧療護時,對於解決和減輕他們的顧慮做好準備。

如欲了解更多詳情,請以下列方式聯絡我們:

1 www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/advanced-cancer/care-choices/care-fact-sheet#q4
2 美國國家安寧緩和療護組織(National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization)。2015 美國國家安寧療護摘要(National Summary of Hospice Care)。2016年11月。

-- 返回頁首--

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.

Hospice Care for Cancer Patients

Hospice Care for People with Cancer

Despite the doctor’s hard work, the patient’s best efforts and the family’s loving support, sometimes cancer treatments stop working and a cure or long-term remission is no longer possible. When that happens, hospice can do so much. Hospice ensures that a cancer patient is cared for, supported and surrounded by the people and things they love. Hospice doesn’t always add more days to a cancer patient’s life, but it can add life—quality of life—to the final months, weeks and days.

When Is the Right Time For Hospice?

“I wish I had known about hospice sooner,” is a common statement among those caring for a loved one with cancer. Although it’s up to the patient’s oncologist or attending physician to order a hospice evaluation, the sooner a patient is admitted to hospice the more benefits they and their loved ones will see. One of the most common misconceptions about hospice is that it is only appropriate in the last days or weeks of life. In reality, the Medicare hospice benefit is designed for patients with a prognosis, or life expectancy, of six months or less.

Hospice Care for Cancer Patients

Read more: Quality Hospice Care Takes Time

Only a doctor can make the clinical determination about a cancer patient’s prognosis. When it becomes six months or less, the patient is considered to have advanced-stage cancer, and can benefit from hospice services. Each patient is different and symptoms vary according to the kind of cancer they have, but there are a few signs consistent among cancers that commonly mean the disease has progressed to the advanced stage:

  • The patient is rapidly weakening and the malignancy is progressing
  • Treatment is no longer fully effective
  • The burden of treatment on the patient and family outweighs the potential benefits

Read more: Hospice Frequently Asked Questions

How Can Hospice Help Cancer Patients?

Research shows that cancer patients and their families who use hospice services report a higher quality of life than those who don’t.1 An interdisciplinary team of professionals brings hospice to the patient. The team looks at advanced-stage cancer from the point of view of both the patient and the patient’s caregiver and other loved ones. The team consists of a physician, nurse, hospice aide, social worker, chaplain, volunteer and bereavement specialist.

Read more: What to Expect in the First Few Days of Hospice

Nearly 40 percent of those who seek hospice services in the United States are people facing advanced stages of cancer.2 Cancer patients receiving hospice care can take comfort knowing they are not alone on this journey and that every member of the hospice team is experienced in guiding people through the most challenging stage of the disease and their lives.

Cancer patients receive care based on their specific health issues and what they do and do not want in the healthcare they receive. Your status will be regularly evaluated and your plan of care will be continuously updated to meet your needs as your symptoms and condition change, even on a day-to-day basis.

Hospice offers the following services for patients with cancer:

  • Coordinated care at every level—A plan of care is developed with the advice and consent of the patient’s oncologist or other physician. At weekly meetings the team reviews the patient’s physical, mental and spiritual condition as well as any needs or concerns the family may have. In addition, hospice coordinates and supplies all medications, medical supplies and equipment related to the diagnosis to ensure patients have everything they need.
  • Pain management and symptom control—Hospice specializes in ensuring patients are comfortable, free of pain and able to enjoy life and remain in control of day-to-day decisions as much as possible. If symptoms become severe, continuous care can be introduced, with shifts of staff providing 24-hour care until symptoms are under control.
  • Emotional and spiritual assistance—A terminal cancer diagnosis can bring strong feelings to the surface or spiritual questions may arise. Hospice has the resources to help patients maintain their emotional and spiritual well-being.
  • Services provided wherever a patient calls home—VITAS offers care for patients wherever they live - in their homes, long term care facilities or assisted living communities. If symptoms become too difficult to manage at home, inpatient services can provide round-the-clock care until the patient is able to return home.

Read more: What is Hospice?

-- Back to Top --

How Can Hospice Help the Family of a Cancer Patient?

Hospice can help cancer patients

Taking care of a loved one with cancer can be emotionally draining and physically strenuous. Family caregivers make difficult healthcare and financial decisions as well as provide emotional support to others. Making the decision to stop medical treatment can bring about strong emotions; families feel overwhelmed. Hospice cares for families in several ways:

  • Caregiver education and training—The family caregiver is vital in helping the hospice team care for the patient. Hospice can relieve families’ concerns by educating them on what to expect and how to take care of their loved one as symptoms increase and communication becomes difficult.
  • Help with difficult decisions—The hospice team helps families make tough choices that impact the patient’s condition and quality of life.
  • Emotional and spiritual support—Caregivers keep their emotions intact, but they need an outlet to express their feelings. Hospice care supports those who care for the patient, bringing outside resources, a listening ear or a shoulder to cry on.
  • Financial assistance—Although hospice services are covered by Medicare, Medicaid/Medi-Cal and private insurers, families may have financial concerns as a result of an extensive illness. Social workers can assist families with financial planning and finding financial assistance during hospice care. After a death, they can help grieving families find financial assistance through human services, if needed.
  • Respite care—Caring for a loved one with an end-stage illness can create tremendous stress. Hospice offers up to five days of inpatient care for the patient when the caregiver needs to be away.
  • Bereavement services—The hospice team works with surviving loved ones for up to 13 months after a death to help them express and cope with their grief in their own way.

-- Back to Top --

What Are the Overall Benefits of Hospice Care?

Whether you already know about hospice or are looking for information, you may not be fully aware of the benefits hospice care has for cancer patients and their loved ones. If you or a loved one is struggling through the advanced stages of cancer, hospice can offer:

Comfort and personal attention. Hospice provides one-on-one care and support to patients and families throughout this challenging chapter in their lives. We listen. We advocate. We work to improve quality of life.

Reduced rehospitalization. As the disease progresses, symptoms may worsen and many patients find themselves making frequent trips to the emergency room or enduring repeated visits to the hospital. Hospice reduces rehospitalization by controlling pain and managing symptoms in the patient’s home.

Security. One of the greatest benefits of hospice is having clinical support whenever you need it. VITAS Telecare® assures clinical support around the clock. And VITAS gives families the training and resources they need to make a difference in their loved ones’ lives.

-- Back to Top --

How Can I Approach the Hospice Discussion?

Talking about the end of life can be difficult. Here are some tips to begin the conversation.

For patients speaking to families:

Education is key. Know as much about what to expect from hospice care as you can in order to dispel any apprehension your loved ones may feel. A good resource is Considering Hospice: A Discussion Guide for Families, available at HospiceCanHelp.com. You can also learn hospice basics in our “What is Hospice” series.

Determine what your loved one knows. Before bringing up hospice, make sure your loved ones have a clear understanding of your health status and your prognosis. People handle difficult information in different ways. If family members are not accepting or understanding of your prognosis, you might want to have a trusted physician, faith leader or friend speak with them on your behalf.

Discuss your goals for the future as well as theirs. As a patient, your greatest concern might be to live without pain, or to stay at home or not to be a burden. Ask your loved ones what their concerns are for the coming months, weeks and days. Explain that hospice is not giving up. It is an active choice to ensure that everyone’s needs are met.

Take initiative. Remember, it’s up to you to express your wishes. Sometimes, out of concern for your family’s feelings, you might be reluctant to raise the issue of hospice care.

For families speaking to patients:

Learn as much as you can about hospice. Before you broach the subject to your loved one, educate yourself about hospice care and services. It’s normal for a patient with a serious illness to be uncertain about hospice. They may have misconceptions. Reading “Considering Hospice: A Discussion Guide” at HospiceCanHelp.com will help you find the best way to begin the conversation.

Ask permission. Asking permission to discuss a difficult topic assures your loved one that you will respect their wishes and honor them. Say something like, “I would like to talk about how we can continue to ensure you get the very best care and attention as your condition progresses. Is that okay?”

Determine what is important to your loved one. Ask him or her to consider the future: “What are you hoping for in the coming days, weeks or months? What are you most concerned about?” The patient might express a desire not to be in pain, to be able to stay at home or to not become a burden.

Discuss hospice care as a means of fulfilling the patient’s wishes. Now that your loved one has told you what is important to them, explain that hospice is a way of making sure wishes and desires are met. For some, the word hospice evokes a false notion of giving up. Explain that hospice is not about surrendering to their cancer or death. It is about bringing quality of life to their remaining months, weeks or days.

Assure the patient that they are in control. Hospice gives patients options: the option to remain in the comfort of their own home, the option to take advantage of emotional and spiritual support, the option to have their own doctor actively involved in their care, the option to live life as they wish. Reassure your loved one that you will honor their choices about what is important to them.

Be a good listener. Keep in mind that this is a conversation, not a debate. Hear what the other person is saying. Know that it is normal to encounter resistance the first time you talk about hospice care. But if you listen and understand your loved one’s reasons for resisting, you will be prepared to address and ease their concerns in your next hospice discussion.

Here's how to contact us to learn more:

1 www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/advanced-cancer/care-choices/care-fact-sheet#q4
2National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization. 2015 National Summary of Hospice Care. Nov. 2016.

-- Back to Top --