請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533

我們對法規遵循的承諾

執行總長提姆·奧圖(Tim O'Toole)

早在OIG出版安寧療護法規遵循指導方針以前,VITAS已從1995年9月起採用法規遵循政策與行為準則。  如今這個政策可確保「VITAS的員工與代理人知道安寧療護服務,只在接獲指示、證明、承保及可行時,且依病患的臨床病情決定為合理且必要的情況下要求補償退款。  VITAS會尋求補償退款的醫療服務,須認定是為末期疾病提供的合理及必要的緩和療護與管理,且須經醫師或其他具相關執照者指示。」  

直至今日都沒有比這個更明確的聲明,足以說明我們對病患利益及我們的法規義務的共同承諾。  我會這麼說是因為,VITAS的工作人員都知道,我們長久以來經常超越法規遵循的基本要求,而我們的基礎並不只是建立在書面的政策和程序上。  那是出自個人關懷,以及每位VITAS員工的本質。  

專業誠信原則

每位VITAS員工在入職訓練時都會做這個聲明:「我已拿到VITAS Healthcare Corporation員工手冊,內容有『騷擾禁令』、『平等就業機會』、『VITAS法規遵循政策』以及『道德與法規行為準則』。  我已讀過手冊,並明白且同意在我就職期間確實遵守。」

VITAS對法規遵循的承諾就是以這樣的個人責任感為核心。  不只是因為公司訂定了法規遵循政策,且政策背後的原則已轉化為行為準則。  也不只是因為我們身為醫療執業人士的員工有義務遵守職業法令及規定,展現誠實、守則與最佳執業的行為。  更不只是因為VITAS執業守則內建程序檢查與制衡,以便在組織上下建立法規遵循的文化。

最終,真正的重點是:  每位VITAS員工各自承擔道德與法規行為的責任。  透過簡單的認證,也就是簽名,每位VITAS員工願意盡其義務,在就職期間的每一天遵守最高的行為準則。

其實,仔細想想也不令人意外。  會想為臨終病患服務的專業人員,他們的核心價值一定有一部份是要做對的事情。  願意花時間與臨終者相處,就證明了他們的人生原則勢必超越個人的利益。  看著他人死去,讓人不禁反省人生的意義,以及我們想留下什麼給後人。

也難怪VITAS的法規遵循計劃會以此為基礎。  是在VITAS的工作人員造就了我們的法規遵循計劃。 那是每位員工對行為準則、專業標準、最佳執業守則及個人責任的全心遵守,才讓我們的法規遵循計劃不是只流於文字的一套程序、檢查與制衡而已。  若說VITAS的法規遵循是個活生生的個體一點也不誇張,因為VITAS法規遵循的核心就是我們的員工。

當然,並不僅止於此。  法規遵循不僅代表員工的最佳專業行為。  它還是一項義務。  因此VITAS已以此深厚的基礎制定了有力的法規遵循計劃,可幫助將善意導入組織的執業活動中,確保公司上下致力於遵守這些原則。  以下是這些法規遵循做法的一些說明。 

安寧療護法規遵循指南

1999年,美國監察署(Office of the Inspector General)出版了安寧療護指導方針,指出安寧療護服務特有的風險。  這些有關法規遵循方面的風險出版後,VITAS相關人士發現這些風險早在VITAS的政策與教育資料中就已提出,至今依然是VITAS員工在法規遵循訓練上的重心。  這些風險包含以下領域:

  • 資格的符合
  • 帳單作業
  • 療養設施的安寧療護服務
  • 臨床風險
  • 行銷作業

 VITAS法規遵循作業的核心,是提供訓練以了解安寧療護可能會碰到哪些特有的風險,而這種做法是合宜的,因為若要維護法規遵循文化,所有VITAS員工都需要了解這些議題。  每位員工在入職訓練期間都要完成法規遵循訓練,並透過VITAS年度更新時接受訓練。  這麼做可確保VITAS的員工熟悉有哪些行為會造成法規遵循的問題,並在發現這些問題時知道要如何處理。  提供訓練是VITAS法規遵循計劃的重心,但要有效執行法規遵循計劃,訓練只是其中一個層面。  

OIG建議一套完整的安寧療護法規遵循計劃應包括:

  • 制定書面政策、程序與行為標準
  • 指派一名法規遵循長以及法規遵循委員會
  • 進行有效的訓練與教育
  • 開發有效的溝通管道(即熱線或其他通報系統)
  • 透過公開宣傳的紀律指導方針來施行標準
  • 進行內部監督與稽查
  • 發現違規情形要立即應變,並研擬修正措施

我們已在上面看到一些VITAS的書面政策與程序,以及VITAS道德與法規行為準則。  VITAS持續維護與帳單和代碼標準以及「不當索賠」防範相關的政策。  而同樣重要的是在VITAS Exchange(VITAS病患管理系統)內建這些政策的做法。  VITAS開發這些制衡系統,不斷了解最新的帳單規定,並確認在所有必要文件載入病人記錄後才送交索賠單。

如上所述,VITAS每年都會花很多時間更新法規遵循教育訓練資料「VITAS的年度更新」,並以令人印象深刻的方式呈現最新的資訊。  這些資料會對如何處理各種與法規遵循有關的情況,提供實用的指導,並建議討論或通報法規遵循問題的方法。  本文末可找到2013年度更新的連結。

VITAS的法規遵循長暨資深副總裁鮑伯·米勒(Bob Miller),主持VITAS的法規遵循委員會,並監督VITAS的法規遵循熱線。  VITAS各辦公室與住院病房的顯眼位置張貼著海報,不時提醒員工如何撥打法規遵循熱線,並強調員工可依意願在通報可能的法規遵循問題時保持匿名。

VITAS在各層級進行法規遵循稽查和監控,從計劃本身開始,再由法規遵循委員會定期審查全公司的報告以監控趨勢。  這些報告包含所有現行修正措施計劃,以及所有與法規遵循相關的紀律處分的更新資料。  透過這種方式,OIG針對完整的法規遵循計劃提出的七個要素,都可見於VITAS的法規遵循做法中。 

將法規遵循文化整合至日常營運作業

身為安寧療護領導者的VITAS,對其建立法規遵循文化的應有責任非常重視。  因此,VITAS已開發出整合工具與程序以符合甚至超越法規遵循的要求,而由於這是日常營運作業的一部份,乍看之下可能不會發覺它們是法規遵循工具。  以下是一些此類活動的例子:  

病患資格審查

病患資格審查是屬於小組層級的工作。  初次入院認證除了要諮詢主治醫生之外,入院初次認證與再認證是由VITAS醫生執行,其中有許多醫生都有安寧療護與緩和療護方面的專科認證。  周詳準備病人的敘述說明也是這個程序的一部份,這樣在審查資格時,後來審查病人記錄者都有記錄可查詢醫生在病人住院各階段的想法。

在小組組員傳閱病人資料以進行療護規劃的情形下,也會包含法規遵循的要素。  每當症狀改變而需變更治療方案時,都會諮詢小組醫生。  在這種情形下,這些相同的醫生可能會指示變更療護等級。  醫生監督治療方案可確保療護方案符合病人及其家屬的需求,但也確保為病人提供適當程度的療護。  

雖然現今醫生很少上門治療,但VITAS的醫生會這麼做。  醫生會透過電話諮商與親自上門,來監督每位病人的療護情形。  醫生在上門拜訪時可能執行各類工作,包括病人評估、評估治療反應、為病人及家屬提供教育與諮商、開新的治療處方以管理病人的不適症狀、評估臨床適當性,以及為參加計劃六個月以上的病人提供必要的面對面會談。  病人醫生關係的完整性是VITAS最注重的。  公司的監察員都不會懷疑醫師對病人的臨床判斷。

這方面在公司層級的活動包括確認病人資料輸入正確,並透過「CMS Common Working File」審查病人的福利資格。 

帳單資料的整合管理

由於VITAS不斷投資各種系統,與法規遵循相關的病人資格裁決,是結合在VITAS專利的病人管理軟體內。  換言之,在提交任何帳單請款前,我們的系統會確認帳單確實有符合資格的索賠申報。

福利資訊、認證與再認證的法規遵循檢查,和自動上傳相關醫生的口述報告,只是VITAS Exchange仔細監控項目中的幾個,以確保帳單不會在這些項目確認前提交。  醫生拜訪記錄與敘述會做成口述報告,並取得電子簽名。  這樣可確保這些重要文件真實無誤且容易閱讀,並可無縫整合至帳單資料流程管理中。

如果認證未及時取得,或是醫生的面對面會談超過時限,系統的內建邏輯可防止提出報帳。  所有例外情形都會經過審查與評估,以防止再度發生。  

為了確保每個計劃都有專任的主題專家來審查與評估選擇權、認證、再認證、醫師敘述、相關醫師口述報告,VITAS每年投資近兩百萬美元聘僱當地財務記錄專家人員,其工作是全權負責帳單法規遵循管理。  財務記錄專家有責任確認所有報帳文件完整確實,然後將相關資料輸入VITAS Exchange。  這些工作一旦完成,完整的文件資料會掃描上傳至VITAS內部網路的儲存入口:病人文件檢視器(Patient Document Viewer)。  最後,VITAS經理會進行「品管」審查,並在提供記錄供報帳前,確保文件完整以及資料輸入正確。

法規遵循標準是由內部法規遵循代表監督,每個月會採樣審查代表性的帳單文件。  針對發現的問題所提供的意見會交給計劃負責人,並每月監控趨勢,以確保需要注意的問題獲得立即處理。  除了這些審查外,VITAS的母公司Chemed則負責內部稽核功能,也會獨立審查這些文件。  這些審查的定期報告,會交給VITAS法規遵循委員會與Chemed董事會,再一次進行監督。

法規遵循訓練與指導

除了針對每位員工提供的「VITAS年度更新」法規遵循訓練,也會針對負責處理法規遵循事務的員工,在法規遵循的相關問題上提供持續的法規指導。  這項指導是由公司專任的法規遵循工作人員提供。  與法規遵循工作人員定期進行這些對話,不僅讓我們了解最新的安寧療護法規,也加強VITAS的法規遵循文化。  透過電話進行法規遵循對話的人士通常會包括營運副總裁、總經理、病人照護主管、法規遵循團體工作人員、財務記錄專家和醫療總監。  此外,VITAS專任的財務調解審查人員也會提供法規更新。

新上任的經理從加入VITAS的第一天開始,都會確實讓新經理做好執行法規遵循工作的準備,並配合每季一次的新經理訓練。  除此密集訓練之外,為求進一步強調法規遵循工作,也會要求訂閱安寧療護法規郵件、參與「財務調解外包商」會議與研討會,以及成為各法規遵循工作小組的會員,目的皆是讓VITAS經理與工作人員成為安寧療護社群中最了解法規遵循的執行人員。  

法規遵循問題通報

您也知道,VITAS是個龐大的組織,而且持續成長。  我們的安寧療護計劃遍及18個州以及華盛頓特區,我們每年都持續擴展至新的領域,讓我們提供的療護能改變人們的生活。  為了確保組織上下皆有深厚的法規遵循文化,VITAS不僅提供前述的VITAS法規遵循熱線:1-800-63-VITAS (638-4827),也提供了我們將在此討論的法規遵循熱線網絡。  法規遵循熱線確保員工有管道能通報需要注意的法規遵循問題。  而且,對於不想在計劃中或與其直屬主管討論問題的員工,這些熱線可讓他們匿名通報。  任何經通報的法規遵循案件都會在法規遵循長的監督下進行調查,並請該計劃的營運總長和營運副總裁出面,必要時也會求助於全國醫療總監與法律諮詢。   

HIPAA熱線負責處理HIPAA違規事項的電話。  當發現像是文件遺失或遭竊等HIPAA相關問題時,便會通知病人及家屬。  為遵循聯邦法律,VITAS HIPAA隱私權主管每年會將HIPAA問題的必要文件交給衛生和公眾服務部長(The Secretary of HHS)。  

此外,VITAS的母公司負責提供「Chemed竊盜與詐欺熱線」,為那些仍然存有顧慮的人再提供另一個通報問題的管道。  留給VITAS員工的訊息很明確:VITAS想知道員工的任何顧慮,以便徹底調查這些問題。

法規遵循是每個人的工作

我們又繞回到一開始的重點,即強調每位VITAS員工都有的個人責任感,以確保法規遵循的重要性並不亞於優質的病人照護。  本文在一開始即引用政策1:04來說明個人的責任感。  那項政策後面接著說:「若不遵守VITAS法規遵循政策、道德與法規行為準則及VITAS其他的法規遵循計劃,就算是不當的員工行為。」

當員工有擔心的問題,該員工務必承擔起個人責任。  如同我在本文一開始所說,透過簡單的認證,也就是簽名,每位VITAS員工願意盡其義務,在就職期間的每一天遵守最高的行為準則。  組織透過提供系統、結構與程序,來支援員工在這方面的努力。  這一切只是說明在VITAS,法規遵循並不是行有餘力時才進行的業餘活動。  在VITAS,無論你的身份和職位為何,法規遵循是每個人每天的責任。

VITAS法規遵循熱線:  1-800-63-VITAS (638-4827)

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.

Our Commitment to Compliance

By Tim O’Toole, Chief Executive Officer

In September 1995, years before the OIG published compliance guidelines for hospices, VITAS adopted a compliance policy and code of conduct.  Today this policy affirms “VITAS employees and agents must know that hospice services will only be reimbursed if ordered, certified, covered, provided and are reasonable and necessary for the patient, given his or her clinical condition.  VITAS will only seek reimbursement for services it has reason to believe are reasonable and necessary for the palliative care and management of the terminal illness and were ordered by a physician or other appropriately licensed individual.”  

To this day, there remains no clearer statement articulating our collective commitment to both our patients’ best interests and our regulatory obligations.  I say this because, as those who work at VITAS already know, the foundation behind our long standing practice of not only meeting, but oftentimes exceeding, regulatory compliance thresholds, is not limited to policy and procedure written on a piece of paper.  It is intensely personal and the essence of every VITAS employee.  

Professional Integrity

Every VITAS employee makes this statement during their orientation: “I have received a copy of the VITAS Healthcare Corporation Employee Handbook, which includes the Prohibition Against Harassment, Equal Employment Opportunity, VITAS Compliance Policy and Code of Ethical and Legal Conduct.  I have read the handbook, understand it and agree to follow it during my employment with the Company.”

This kind of personal responsibility is at the core of VITAS’ commitment to compliance.  It is not just that the company sets out a compliance policy, or that the principles behind that policy have been translated into a code of conduct.  It’s not just that as healthcare practitioners most of our employees are obligated by professional statutes and regulations to behave in a manner consistent with honesty, integrity, and best practice.  It’s not just that procedural checks and balances have been built into VITAS practices to build a culture of compliance within the organization.

In the end, it comes down to this.  Every VITAS employee takes personal responsibility for ethical and legal conduct.  Through a simple act of attestation – signing one’s name – every VITAS employee willingly obligates themselves to the highest standards with respect to their conduct every day of their employment.

This is no surprise, really, when you think about it.  The kind of professionals drawn to work with the dying would naturally have as a part of their core values a commitment to doing the right thing.  There is something about spending time with those nearing life’s end that magnifies one’s devotion to living life in accordance with principles larger than one’s own self interest.  Watching how people die, one can’t help but reflect on what life means and what we would want our legacy to be.

And so it’s no surprise that VITAS’ compliance program would start here.  It’s the people working at VITAS that make our compliance program what it is.  It is the dedication of each employee to a code of conduct, to professional standards, to best practices and taking personal responsibility that makes our compliance program not just a set of words, procedures, checks and balances.  It is not an exaggeration to say that compliance is literally a living, breathing thing at VITAS, because at VITAS compliance starts with our people.

It doesn’t end there, of course.  Compliance is not only the embodiment of the best professional conduct of our employees.  It’s also a duty.  So VITAS has built a robust compliance program on this solid foundation that helps to channel these good intentions into organizational practices that assure a commitment to integrity is maintained at all levels of our company.  What follows is a description of these compliance practices. 

Compliance Guidance for Hospices

In 1999 the Office of Inspector General published guidelines for hospices that identified the unique risk areas inherent in hospice care.  When these compliance risk areas were published, those of us associated with VITAS recognized these were areas that already had been addressed in VITAS policy and educational materials, and they remain the focus of compliance training for VITAS employees to this day.  These risk areas include the following:

  • Eligibility
  • Billing Practices
  • Hospice Services in Nursing Facilities
  • Clinical Risks
  • Marketing Practices

 It is appropriate that training about the unique ways these risks might surface in hospice is at the core of compliance at VITAS because, in order to maintain a culture of compliance, all VITAS employees need to understand these issues.  Compliance training is completed by each employee during orientation and through the VITAS Annual Update.  This ensures that VITAS employees are attuned to the kinds of behavior that could result in compliance challenges and know how to address these issues should they be observed.  Training is at the core of the VITAS compliance program, but training is only one aspect of an effective compliance program.  

The OIG recommends that for a hospice compliance program to be comprehensive it should include:

  • Implementing written policies, procedures, and standards of conduct
  • Designating a compliance officer and compliance committee
  • Conducting effective training and education
  • Developing effective lines of communication (i.e., hotline or other reporting system)
  • Enforcing standards through well-publicized disciplinary guidelines
  • Conducting internal monitoring and auditing
  • Responding promptly to detected offenses and developing corrective action

We have already been exposed to some of VITAS’ written policies and procedures above, and the VITAS code of ethical and legal conduct.  VITAS maintains policies related to billing and coding standards and “false claims” prevention.  Of equal importance are the ways in which these policies have been built into the VITAS Exchange, VITAS’ patient management system.  VITAS developed these systems with checks and balances and continues to invest in staying current on billing rules to prevent claims from being submitted until all necessary documentation is in the patient record.

As mentioned above, many hours each year are invested in updating the compliance education and training materials – VITAS’ Annual Update – with the latest information presented in a memorable way.  These materials present practical advice regarding how to handle various situations that might have a compliance aspect, and suggest methods of discussing or reporting compliance concerns.  A link to the 2013 Annual update can be found at the end of this document.

VITAS’ Compliance Officer, currently Senior Vice President Bob Miller, chairs VITAS’ Compliance Committee and monitors VITAS’ Compliance Hotline.  Posters placed in prominent locations around VITAS offices and inpatient units serve as effective reminders to employees about how to reach the compliance hotline, and stress that anonymity can be maintained when that is desired by an employee reporting a potential compliance issue.

Compliance auditing and monitoring is done at a variety of levels at VITAS, starting with the program, and the Compliance Committee regularly reviews reports collated at the corporate level to monitor trends.  These reports include updates on any current corrective action plans and any compliance related disciplinary action.  In this way, all seven elements the OIG has identified for a comprehensive compliance program are present in VITAS’ compliance efforts. 

Integration of a Compliance Culture into Daily Operations

As a hospice leader, VITAS takes its responsibility to create a culture of compliance very seriously.  As a result, VITAS has developed integrated tools and processes to meet and exceed compliance requirements that are so much a part of daily operations that they might not at first be thought of as compliance tools.  Here is a sample of these activities:  

Patient Eligibility Review

Patient eligibility review belongs at the team level.  In addition to consulting with the attending physician as a part of the initial admission certification, admission initial certifications and recertifications are conducted by VITAS physicians, many of whom hold specialty certifications in hospice and palliative care.  Narrative descriptions of the patient are carefully prepared as part of this process so that anyone reviewing the patient record subsequently has a record of the physician’s thought process at each point along the patient’s stay where eligibility was reviewed.

Many encounters in which patient information is relayed amongst team members for care planning purposes also include a compliance element.  Team physicians are consulted whenever a change of symptoms might require a change in treatment orders.  These same physicians might order a change in level of care as a result of this encounter.  Physician oversight of the treatment plan assures that the plan of care meets the needs of that patient and family, but it is also done to assure that the appropriate level of care intensity is being provided to the patient.  

Although doctors these days rarely make house calls, VITAS doctors do.  Physicians oversee the care of every patient on service through telephonic consultation and in person visits.  During these visits, physicians may be performing any number of tasks, including patient assessment, evaluating responses to treatments, providing education and consultation to patients and their families, ordering new treatments to manage patient symptoms causing distress, evaluating clinical appropriateness, and conducting required face-to-face encounters for patients on service greater than six months.  The integrity of the doctor patient relationship is of the utmost importance at VITAS.  No panel of corporate overseers second guess the judgment of the physician at the patient’s bedside.

Corporate level activities in this area include the confirmation of accurate patient data entry, as well as a review of benefit eligibility through the CMS Common Working File. 

Integrated Management of Billing Data

As a result of VITAS’ ongoing investment in systems, compliance-related patient eligibility determinations are tied together in VITAS’ proprietary patient management software.  In other words, before any bill is submitted for payment, our systems make sure that bill is tied to a properly eligible claim.

Benefit information, certification and recertification compliance checks, and the automated uploading of associated physician dictation are just a few of the items carefully monitored through the VITAS Exchange so that no bill is ever dropped until these items have been confirmed.  Physician visit notes and narratives are dictated, and electronic signatures are obtained.  This assures authenticity and legibility of these critical documents and enables seamless integration into the management of the billing data flow.

Logic built into the system prevents billing if a certification is not obtained in a timely way, for instance, or if a physician face-to-face encounter is late.  Any exceptions are reviewed and evaluated in an effort to prevent recurrence.  

In an effort to assure that each program has a dedicated subject matter expert to review and evaluate elections, certifications, recertifications, physician narratives, and associated physician dictation, VITAS invests nearly two million dollars a year to maintain local Financial Record Specialist personnel whose job is singularly focused on billing compliance management.  The Financial Records Specialist is responsible to ensure all billing documents are complete and accurate, and then enters the associated data into the VITAS Exchange.  Once these tasks are done, a scan of the complete documentation is uploaded into VITAS’ internal intranet storage portal called the Patient Document Viewer.  Finally, a VITAS manager conducts a “quality assurance” review to ensure that the documents are complete and data are entered correctly before releasing the record for billing.

Compliance with standards is monitored by internal compliance advocates who review a representative sample of billing documents each month.  Feedback on any identified issues is given to the responsible individual in the program, and trends are monitored on a monthly basis to assure that any issues requiring attention are promptly addressed.  In addition to these reviews, VITAS’ parent company, Chemed, maintains an Internal Audit function to independently review these documents as well.  Regular reports from these reviews are provided to the VITAS Compliance Committee and the Chemed Board of Directors for yet another level of oversight.

Compliance Training and Coaching

In addition to the VITAS Annual Update compliance training for every employee, ongoing regulatory coaching on compliance issues is provided to employees with compliance related responsibilities.  This coaching is provided by dedicated corporate compliance staff.  These regular conversations with compliance personnel not only keep us up to date on hospice regulations but they also reinforce VITAS’ culture of compliance.  Compliance outreach through these calls typically include Vice Presidents of Operations, General Managers, Patient Care Administrators, Regulatory Compliance Group personnel, Financial Records Specialists and Medical Directors.  In addition, regulatory updates also are provided by dedicated VITAS Fiscal Intermediary Review staff.

From the very first day that a new manager joins VITAS, special effort is taken to assure that the new manager is prepared to take on the compliance aspects of their roles in accordance with new manager training which is conducted quarterly.  Beyond this intensive training, compliance is further enhanced by participation in hospice regulatory mailings, Fiscal Intermediary Contractor conferences and workshops, as well as membership to various compliance workgroups all geared to make VITAS managers and personnel among the most informed compliance practitioners in the hospice community.  

Reporting of Compliance Concerns

As you know, VITAS is a large organization and we are growing.  Our hospice programs are spread across 18 states and the District of Columbia, and we continue to expand each year into new areas where our care can make a difference.  To ensure our strong culture of compliance throughout the organization, VITAS maintains not just the VITAS Compliance Hotline at 1-800-63-VITAS (638-4827) as mentioned above, but a robust network of compliance hotlines as described in this section.  The compliance hotlines assure that employees have ready access to a way of reporting any compliance issues that need attention.  Also, for any employee who feels at all uncomfortable discussing issues in the program or with their immediate supervisor, these hotlines provide the ability to report situations anonymously.  Any compliance allegations reported are investigated under the supervision of the Compliance Officer and involve the Chief Operating Officer, Vice President of Operations for the affected program, the National Medical Director and legal counsel when appropriate.   

The HIPAA Hotline exists to field calls concerning potential HIPAA violations.  When a HIPAA issue is identified, such as lost or stolen paper documentation, patients and families are notified of the issue.  Following Federal law, the VITAS HIPAA privacy officer annually makes required filings about any HIPAA issues to the Secretary of HHS.  

Additionally, VITAS’ parent company maintains the Chemed Theft and Fraud Hotline to give those with concerns yet another avenue to report potential concerns.  The message to VITAS employees is clear: VITAS wants to know of any concerns employees might have so that they can be thoroughly investigated.

Compliance is Everyone’s Job

And so we have come full circle, back to highlighting the individual responsibility shared by each VITAS employee to assure that compliance is just as top a priority as is excellent patient care.  Policy 1:04 was quoted at the beginning of this discussion about individual responsibility.  That policy goes on to say:  “Failure to comply with the VITAS Compliance Policy and Code of Ethical and Legal Conduct, as well as other elements of VITAS’ compliance program is a form of employee misconduct.”

When an employee has concerns the employee must take personal responsibility.  As I noted at the beginning of this paper, through a simple act of attestation – signing one’s name – every VITAS employee willingly obligates themselves to the highest standards with respect to their conduct every day of their employment.  The organization supports employees in this endeavor through its systems, structures and processes.  All of this is to say that at VITAS, compliance is not a sidelight, something we attend to when everything else is done.  At VITAS, no matter who you are or what you do, compliance is everyone’s job – every day.

VITAS Compliance Hotline:  1-800-63-VITAS (638-4827)