請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533

擇善而從並且記錄下來

撰文:鮑伯‧米勒(Bob Miller),營運資深副總裁和法規遵循長(Senior VP of Operations and Compliance Officer);以及凱倫‧皮特森(Karen Peterson),副總裁及護理總長(VP and Chief Nursing Officer)

我們每天似乎會聽到許多與安寧療護方面的督察、篡改、訴訟和涉嫌詐欺及濫用相關的新聞。  您可能不禁自問為什麼會這樣,尤其是受到吸引在安寧療護環境工作的人(您和您的同事),都是受到這種反映VITAS價值的原則所鼓舞。  我們的首要價值觀是「病人和家屬第一」,這幾乎是我們每位安寧療護專業人員的共識。  在VITAS,這些原則不是只有紙上談兵、光說不做。  當您和同事為病人和家屬做到擇善而從時,就是在堅定地面對病人艱難的狀況並落實這些原則。  我們對您和同事每年為四百萬人次就診者提供優良療護服務感到驕傲,也希望您深有同感。

我們之所以對安寧療護如此慎重其事,是因為生命末期療護服務是醫療保健和聯邦醫療保險中正蓬勃發展的一個領域。  安寧療護從1970年代晚期才開始建立發展,因此在醫療保健產業中仍屬新興服務。  由於VITAS和其他主要安寧療護服務提供者對臨床醫事人員可提供的最佳生命末期療護醫學及療護服務非常支持,安寧療護服務的使用愈來愈普遍,相關的經費也愈來愈多。  因此理所當然地,如同其他已成熟發展的醫學領域,我們預見本身提供的各方面療護服務將會繼續受到注目;同時將獲得聯邦醫療保險補償,以發揮更大效率和效用。

VITAS非常樂見審慎監督安寧療護服務。  誠實的服務提供者、鼓勵員工擇善而從的服務提供者、嚴格遵守聯邦醫療保險規定和準則者;簡而言之,像VITAS這樣的服務提供者為這樣的發展喝采。  這表示我們將因為擇善而從、還有為失去親人的難過痛苦時刻提供更好、更易適應的環境,而有機會在這個領域脫穎而出,  這機會來自於每年為四百多萬人次提供服務。

隨著安寧療護和聯邦醫療保險規定日趨嚴謹,如果您和同事每日繼續提供這類療護服務,我們大家每天都有責任謹慎思考、提供選擇、仔細記錄,並確保病人和家屬獲得符合本身需求的適當療護服務(而且要記錄成文件)。  簡單地說,我們大家一定要擇善而從。  VITAS的第二個價值觀是一般人很少會思考的一面。「我們互相照顧」表示我們每個人每天都有責任盡力為病患和家屬提供最佳療護服務(並且記錄下來),以便病患和家屬能獲得最需要的服務,且不需要其他人做我們的工作。  

互相照顧包含互相幫助以做到擇善而從。  了解我們的作業程序範圍、了解遵約問題;當有人打算走捷徑時,要明確表達自己的想法;無論對任何病人,在任何情況下,一定要讓同事每天都做到「擇善而從」...堅定地向目標前進。  指導、提醒、尋求指引,以及檢視新政策和新標準,同時提問、互相提醒遵守規定。了解VITAS設定標準和協定是為了協助我們遵守規定和要求,同時最終要以病人和家屬為第一,為他們提供最高品質的療護服務。

隨時善盡職責

對於已在VITAS工作的人來說,這些其實是老生常談。  但我們還是隨時要強調這些重要原則。  擇善而從(並記錄文件)確實是我們防範督察、篡改、訴訟及涉嫌詐欺及濫用的最佳方法。  因此,雖然本文旨在強調VITAS服務品質和法規遵循計劃的重要性,但請記得「行為準則」才真正是需要列入清楚且直接的步驟指南,讓大家能了解到「擇善而從」的意義。

一項健全且如VITAS制定的法規遵循計劃應具備數項關鍵要素: 其中包含:

  • 訓練 - 如我們在入職訓練和四月的「年度更新」中為員工所提供的訓練。
  • 透過指導和責任機制,執行法規遵循指南。
  • 建立以法規遵循為首的文化,鼓勵員工提出相關的疑慮或問題

下面列有對法規遵循觀點的主要疑慮和問題。

資格包含我們在入院、出院和撤銷程序中提供的審查及互相制衡作業。我們隨時改善入院流程,確保只有需要安寧療護的病人才可使用VITAS獨特的療護服務。  出院和撤銷服務流程也一樣 - 我們要確定探索各種有關的可能選擇,繼續提供能完全符合病人需求的療護服務。  我們將於下面著重探討更高療護層級的資格問題。  資格是法規遵循審核員最注重的要素之一。

請款作業:VITAS投資於執行法規遵約的監督作業, 包含雇用主題專家負責監督每項計劃的請款文件。  當然,我們的法規遵約計劃範圍更廣泛,不只是要準確的同意、認證和再認證而已。  這項作業也與臨床醫事人員填寫記錄文件有關係。臨床醫事人員有責任確保記錄文件反映病人的真實狀況,以及記錄我們的醫療介入服務在管理病人每項症狀的進步情形。  這表示您必須留意和記錄您的專業知識教導您所應注意的事項。  記錄顯示出病人狀況惡化的事情,如戒指或假牙變鬆等等。  記錄患病對家屬的意義,以及我們的醫療服務如何減輕病人痛苦並如何給予希望等事。  記錄我們可能尚未協助病人實現的夢想和希望等事。 

護理機構的安寧療護服務是非常受到關注的特別領域,,因為有些人認為護理機構應提供病人和家屬所需一切,其中包含生命末期療護服務。  只有您和您的同事可記錄您們為病人提供的獨特療護服務,協助他們在生命最後的日子裡感到舒適;記錄您協助病人的方式,讓他們即使在病魔摧殘下仍能以自己外表為傲;記錄您以最佳療護方式來支持他們的尊嚴,這些方法即使是療養院最有愛心的人員也無法做到,因為他們沒有您的專業。  除此之外,與療養院之間的關係將會受到密切注意,因為在轉介時可能會有回扣或其他不當行為問題。  VITAS絕不容許這類行為,您也不應容許。

臨床風險:其中包含確保我們的療護和服務符合實務標準。還有,擇善而從(並記錄文件)。  服務協調也屬於這方面,我們必須負責管理病人和家屬的全部情況。  這部份還要了解並追蹤聯邦醫療保險投保條款、州政府許可法,以及規範我們所提供療護服務的規定。

最後,確保我們的行銷實務合法並反映最佳實務。  就如同其他方面的法規遵循,這表示在轉介資源方面不只是要行事符合道德標準。  這方面也要反映出VITAS用心印製的行銷和教育資料。這些資料會以轉介資源病人及家屬可了解的語言來說明我們提供的服務。  畢竟我們負有特殊的責任,要協助病人和家屬了解VITAS(及所有安寧療護)必須提供的全面療護和服務。

焦點:更高療護層級

在提供完善療護和服務中,有項工作就是要確保病人可在正確時機獲得適當程度的服務。  安寧療護有四種層級,且我們的職責就是要確保在必要時提供正確層級的療護服務。  由於更高療護層級將獲得更高費用的補償退款,因此必須經過調查員和審核員的特別審查。

VITAS一直以來(且未來也將)致力確保在病人需要時可提供更高層級療護、一般住院療護和持續性的居家療護服務。  這兩類療護服務都充滿挑戰性。  您知道外面有許多安寧療護服務提供者都不以一致的方式提供更高層級的療護服務嗎?  事實上,OIG最近剛發表的研究顯示,在2011年期間,27%的聯邦醫療保險安寧療護(953家安寧療護)都不提供任何一般住院療護,且這些安寧療護機構大多不提供持續性的居家療護服務。  OIG明確指出:「和 [一般住院療護] 一樣,持續性療護和住院喘息療護都可獲得聯邦醫療保險的承保,且必要時一定要提供。」

從您過去的經驗可知,在法規允許下,病人和家屬在需要時能取得住院或持續性療護可讓他們輕鬆不少。  想像為不願投資於必要療護層級的服務提供者工作的情形。  想像這樣對您工作帶來的負面影響,且更重要的是對病人和家屬生活的影響。

當病人需要更高層級療護時,您的責任為何?  其實就是我們在本文中所討論的一切。  擇善而從。  記錄原因。  說起來簡單,但也很複雜。  有時候因病人而異,有些人會出現不同的急性病症。  有些人則會出現如噁心或嘔吐、流血或呼吸不順等明顯且難應付的症狀,  有些症狀則不太明顯,但病人會出現一些需要處理的狀況,且可能最後會需要更高層級的療護,視醫生的醫囑而定。

隨時與醫師聯絡,告知您所見到的一切。  如果醫師覺得一定需要較高層級的護理,則必須與病人和家屬討論他們的優先選項。  對有些人說,待在家中有親人、寵物陪伴,且看到自己喜愛的事物,才會讓他們覺得持續性療護是最佳途徑。  另外有些人則認為一天找人來家中24小時會令人不自在,反而是住院療護更吸引人。  有些病症最好能在住院環境中控制,醫師可能會根據病症控制情形來建議較高層級的療護環境。

更重要的是,較高層級療護服務的記錄文件必須詳細說明一定需要這類療護的原因。  記錄文件內容必須更深入、更詳細,且要涵蓋上面所提的各方面內容。  以您希望別人為自己親人所獲得的照護記錄文件的方式來寫您的註釋。  讓任何人以後讀這些內容時了解到您的照護有多好。

品質和法規遵約並重?

雖然我們不斷強調法規遵循,但我們也一直談及品質。  這兩者缺一不可。  如您所知,VITAS一直投資大量時間和精力,為臨床醫事人員和診所經理提供最佳工具,協助他們控制病人的症狀。  VITAS從1990年代初期開發了VITAS Exchange,並提倡運用資料分析。  從早期開始,我們就已運用系統報告所提供的病人疼痛指數,協助評量和改善我們的療護服務。當許多安寧療護機構在轉介日期之後還在安排初次入院就診日子時,我們就已能在數小時內評量轉介的回應。

我們的臨床醫事人員和診所經理非常注重服務,品質和法規遵循對他們而言是再熟悉不過的事。  我們最近致力於研發「品質評量和績效改善控制面板」。  控制面板含有62種測量指標,其中許多指標是整合自您的例行療護記錄。  從控制面板的設定方式可看出病情驅勢,必要時可擬訂績效改善計劃。  控制面板的說明比我們初期報告更為詳細,但這一切都是在證明我們對高水準品質的要求,以及目前能提供有助保證使我們服務更進步的資料分析。

我為做出貢獻而引以為傲

本文一開始,我們曾提到希望你們以每日所做的事情為傲。  讀了這篇文章後,希望有助你們以不同角度看見自己應以所做的事情和在VITAS的貢獻為傲。  您和您的同事為服務貢獻心力,這對我們的病人和家屬至為重要。  在VITAS,我們遵守規定、擇善而從、記錄文件,這本身就是一種回報。  最重要的是,我們為病人擇善而從。

VITAS法規遵循熱線:1-800-63-VITAS (638-4827)

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.

Do the Right Thing – And Document It

By Bob Miller, Senior VP of Operations and Compliance Officer, and Karen Peterson, VP and Chief Nursing Officer

It seems like every day we are hearing more in the news about audits, edits, lawsuits and allegations of fraud and abuse in hospice.  You might be tempted to ask yourselves why this is the case, especially since the people drawn to work in a hospice environment – you, and your colleagues – are people motivated by the kind of principles that are reflected in our VITAS values.  Our first value “Patients and Families Come First” is one that resonates with virtually every hospice professional.  At VITAS, these principles are not just nice words on a page that no one ever reads.  They are being lived out today in challenging patient situations as you and your colleagues seek to do the right thing for patients and families.  We hope the excellent care you and your colleagues provide to people during more than four million visits per year makes you as proud as it makes us.

One reason we are seeing more scrutiny of hospice is that end of life care is maturing as a sector within healthcare and Medicare.  Hospice is a relative newcomer on the healthcare scene, having only been established in the late 1970s.  As VITAS and other premier hospice providers champion access to the best end-of-life care medical science and caring clinicians can offer, utilization of hospice and associated expenditures for hospice have increased.  So it stands to reason that, like more established sectors of medicine, we will continue to see a spotlight shined on every aspect of the care we provide and which is reimbursed by a Medicare budget challenged to become more efficient and effective.

At VITAS, we welcome this scrutiny.  Honest providers, providers who encourage staff members to do the right thing, providers who carefully follow the rules and guidelines established by Medicare; in short, providers like VITAS, applaud this development.  It means we have the opportunity to shine as we do the right things and make a difficult or unbearable situation like the loss of a loved one just a little bit better, a little bit easier.  More than four million times a year.

If the kind of care you and your colleagues provide every day is to continue as hospice and the Medicare rules evolve, the responsibility is on each of us – every day – to think critically, offer alternatives, document thoroughly, and assure that patients and families get the appropriate care that addresses their needs (and document it).  In short, each of us needs to do the right thing.  This is one aspect we don’t often think about with respect to VITAS’ second value.  “We take care of each other” means that each of us – every day – upholds our responsibility to provide the best possible care for our patients and families (and document it) so that patients and families get what they need and no one else has to do our work for us.  

Taking care of each other includes helping each other to do the right thing.  Know our scope of practice, know compliance issues, speak up when someone may be contemplating taking a short cut, bring your co worker back to ‘doing the right thing’ every day with every patient in every situation…don’t look the other way.  Teach, remind, seek guidance, review new policies and new standards, ask questions, keep each other compliant knowing that VITAS standards and protocols are in place to help us meet rules and requirements while ultimately putting patients and families first, and in the end delivering care of the highest quality.

Doing Our Best Today

We realize this is nothing new to those of you who have worked at VITAS for any time.  We have always been focused on these important matters.  It is also true that doing the right thing (and documenting it) is our single best defense against audits, edits, lawsuits, and allegations of fraud and abuse.  So while our attention in this document is going to turn toward VITAS’ quality and compliance program, remember that this “code of conduct” is really just our attempt to put into clear and direct step-by-step guidelines what it means to do the right thing.

A robust compliance program like the one at VITAS has several key components. These include:

  • Training – like what we provide every employee upon orientation and with our Annual Update in April
  • Enforcement of compliance guidelines through coaching and accountability
  • Creating a culture of compliance and encouraging employees to raise concerns

Some of the main areas of concern from a compliance standpoint are listed below.

Eligibility includes the checks and balances we provide as part of the admission, discharge, and revocation processes. We are consistently refining our admission processes to assure that we provide access to VITAS’ unique way of caring only to hospice appropriate patients.  The same applies to discharges and revocations – we want to be sure to explore every appropriate option to continue providing care to meet the needs of appropriate patients.  Below we will focus on eligibility for higher levels of care.  Eligibility is one of the top target areas for compliance reviewers.

Billing Practices:  VITAS invests in  comprehensive compliance oversight including a subject matter expert on billing documentation at each of our programs.  Of course, our compliance program is more expansive than just accurate consents, certifications, and recertifications, though.  It also refers to documentation you as a clinician might complete and your responsibility to assure that your documentation reflects the patient’s condition and how well each of their symptoms is being managed by the interventions we are providing.  It means you are attentive to and document things your expertise leads you to notice.  Things like looser fitting rings or dentures that evidence the patient’s decline in condition.  Things like what the disease means to the family and how our interventions are helping relieve suffering and provide hope.  Things like dreams and wishes that we might yet be able to help them fulfill. 

Hospice Services in Nursing Facilities are a special area of interest as some have the perception that nursing homes should be providing everything the patient and family need, including end of life care.  Only you and your teammates can document the unique care you provide to help make the patient more comfortable in their last days, the way you can help them take pride in their appearance despite the ravages of their disease process, the dignity you support by managing their care in ways even the most well intentioned nursing home staff cannot because they do not have your expertise.  In addition to this, relationships with nursing homes come under scrutiny because of the potential for kickbacks and other inappropriate behavior relating to referrals.  VITAS does not tolerate these sorts of behaviors, and neither should you.

Clinical Risks:  These include assuring that our care and services meet standards of practice – again, doing the right thing (and documenting it).  Coordination of services falls in this area, and our responsibility to manage the whole patient and family situation.  Part of this is knowing and following the Medicare Conditions of Participation and state licensure laws, the rules that govern the care we provide.

Lastly, assuring that our Marketing Practices are appropriate and reflect best practices.  Like these other areas of compliance, this means more than simply behaving ethically with respect to referral sources.  It also reflects the great care VITAS takes to publish marketing and educational materials that describe the services we offer in language that the referral source AND the patient and family can understand.  After all, we have a unique obligation to help patients and families understand the full range of care and services VITAS, and all hospices, must provide.

Focus: Higher Levels of Care

Part of providing the full range of care and services is making sure that patients have access to the right intensity of services at the right time.  There are four levels of hospice care and it is our job to make sure the appropriate level of care is provided when it is needed.  Since higher levels of care are reimbursed at a higher rate, these are under particular scrutiny by surveyors and reviewers.

VITAS has always been – and always will be – committed to assuring that both higher levels of care, general inpatient care and continuous home care, are available when needed.  Both of these are challenging services to provide.  Did you know that there are many hospice providers out there that don’t provide either of these higher levels of care in any consistent way?  In fact, a study recently released by the OIG found that 27% of Medicare hospices (953 hospices) did not provide any general inpatient care during 2011 and that most of these hospices also did not provide continuous home care.  The OIG rightly pointed out that “Like [general inpatient care], continuous care and inpatient respite care are covered by Medicare and must be provided if needed.”

Your experience tells you what a relief it is for the patient and family to have access to inpatient or continuous care when it’s needed and appropriate under the regulations.  Imagine working for a provider unwilling to invest in these required levels of care.  Imagine what a negative impact that would have on your work, and more importantly on the lives of patients and families.

What’s your responsibility when a higher level of care is called for?  Nothing less than what we have been reviewing throughout this article.  Doing the right thing.  Documenting the reasons.  It’s really as simple – and as complex – as that.  Acute medical symptoms may appear differently depending on the particular patient.  Some will present with intractable symptoms like nausea or vomiting, pain, bleeding, or respiratory distress – things too obvious to ignore.  Some will be less obvious, but will be a clue that something is happening with these patients that needs to be attended to and may result in the need for a higher level of care, based on a physician’s order.

Always reach out to the physician and share what you are seeing.  If the physician feels that a higher level of care is warranted, talk to the patient and family about their preferences.  For some, staying at home surrounded by the people, pets and things they love will lead to the conclusion that continuous care is the best avenue.  For others, the thought of having someone in their home up to 24 hours a day will seem too intrusive so that general inpatient care will seem more attractive.  Some symptoms are better managed in an inpatient setting, so the physician may recommend a setting for the higher level of care according to the symptom being managed.

Importantly, the documentation at these higher levels of care needs to detail the reasons that the higher level of care is appropriate.  It needs more depth, more description, more of all those aspects we described above.  Write your notes in the same way you would want someone to document the care of someone you love.  Let anyone who reads them afterwards know how excellent your care was.

Isn’t it Both Quality and Compliance?

Although we have been focusing on compliance, we have also been talking about quality all along.  It’s impossible to separate the two.  As you know, VITAS has invested a great deal of time and energy to give clinicians and clinical managers the best tools to help manage patient’s symptoms.  VITAS has pioneered the use of data since the early 1990s when we developed the VITAS Exchange.  We’ve used patient’s pain scores through reports available in the system to help us evaluate and improve our care since these early beginnings. At a time when many hospices were scheduling initial admission visits days after the date of a referral, we were measuring our response to referrals in hours.

So being focused on access, quality and compliance is nothing new to our clinicians and managers.  Our latest effort in this area is the Quality Assessment and Performance Improvement Dashboard.  The dashboard contains 62 measures, many of them aggregated from things you document routinely during care.  The dashboard is set up in such a way so that trends can be seen and performance improvement plans initiated in the program when needed.  The dashboard is much more elaborate than our early reports, but it really just demonstrates our level of commitment to quality coupled with the kind of data that is now available to help us take that commitment to the next level.

I Am Proud to Make a Difference

At the beginning we said we hope you are proud of what you do every day.  Hopefully, reading this article has helped you see other ways in which you should be proud of what you do and of doing it with VITAS.  You and your colleagues are making a difference, when it matters most to our patients and their families.  At VITAS, following the rules, doing the right thing, and documenting it, is its own reward.  And most importantly, is the right thing to do for our patients.

VITAS Compliance Hotline:  1-800-63-VITAS (638-4827)