請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533

安寧療護合作關係:與VITAS共同合作

全美安寧緩和客服部

VITAS全國客服部門透過與下列各單位建立策略合作關係,讓安寧療護更為普及:

  • 管理式療護機構
  • 照護管理公司
  • 生活輔助公司
  • 長期療護提供者
  • 疾病管理公司
  • 醫院體系

VITAS致力於改善您為會員提供的生命末期療護服務品質提升病人及家屬的滿意度,並協助您的組織管理醫療護理費用

VITAS提為我們的合作夥伴提供他們所需的工具,用以服務患者,使患者從優質、慈心的生命末期療護中受益。這些工具包括:

  • 完善的推廣教育計畫
  • 個人化的報告作業
  • 成果研究
  • 成員認知計畫
  • 集中式帳單/合約管理
  • 專屬的全國客服部經理

醫療服務正在發生變化。管理式療護正在發生變化。醫療服務消費者正在發生變化。VITAS可給予幫助。

隨著醫療服務費用不斷的增加和《可負擔醫療法案》之實施,為降低費用、提高療護品質並記錄政府計畫和管理式療護機構的大量節約項,已進行無數研究、計畫和倡議。

各醫院正應對新法規,面對因為提供被判斷為不合格之業務而遭到的懲罰。尤其注重評估和監控再次住院。除其他目標外,全美公私營合作模式即將成型,以減少聯邦醫療保險高風險投保人再次住院。

同時,醫療服務改革鼓勵並促使大眾更加關注自我健康。相比前幾代人,他們受教育水平更高,更加主動。他們願意了解自己的疾病、預兆和選擇。

VITAS在安寧療護領域經驗豐富,35多年以來不斷改善生命末期療護品質、提升病人及家屬的滿意度,並協助我們的合作夥伴克服照護慢性和生命末期病人中所遇障礙。我們致力於降低費用,管理醫療護理安排轉化,透過團隊合作為病人和其家屬帶來力量。

VITAS能為您做些什麼?

作為全美首選的安寧療護提供者,VITAS可為您的成員提供更好的療護服務:在最合適的臨床醫療環境中且收費較低廉。

VITAS會降低您的療護費用

安寧療護環境中的緩和療護費用比在治癒環境中的重症療護更為低廉。安寧療護可除去高昂無效的醫療程序和不必要的處方藥治療、降低急診看診率,並減少住院。這對於管理式療護機構尤其重要,使其有機會完全可以將花在傳統醫療環境裡的費用轉而用於安寧療護。

身為最有效率且擁有精良技術資源的全國性安寧療護提供者,VITAS最具備條件與全國的合作夥伴合作以提供優質且符合成本效益的療護解決方案。同樣重要的是,VITAS為您的成員提供在地方、區域或其他全國性安寧療護機構所無法給予的服務,而帶給您新的價值。

VITAS提供的支持服務包括資料共享、繼續教育和生命末期療護諮詢,是全美大型醫療護理機構值得信賴的合作夥伴。

VITAS熟悉緩和療護模式

緩和療護及安寧療護服務皆以照護重症病人為目標。VITAS是緩和療護方面的專家,編配的專業人員會確認符合安寧療護資格的病人,並根據病症、目標、預後、文化等條件幫助病人及其家屬選擇合適的安寧療護。

  • 安寧療護是照護瀕臨死亡病人的療護團隊。
  • 緩和療護是將安寧療護準則直接賦予患威脅生命但未達生命末期患者的諮詢醫生和專業護士照護模式。 
  • 緩和療護針對患有可能威脅生命疾病但預後生命超過六個月的重症患者;適合於嚴重疾病的任何階段,可與疾病調整治療保持同步。
  • 緩和療護和安寧療護統一療護模式:緩和療護結束便是安寧療護開始,二者順暢連接。

VITAS對再次住院的處理

如醫院經認定未滿足患者期望、延長住院時間、死亡率偏差和再次住院費用高昂,均將受到政府的懲罰。透過改變彼此間的護理協作模式,與VITAS合作的醫院將:

  • 為處於生命末期的急症患者提供連續的護理系統
  • 降低重症服務的使用、再次住院和死亡率
  • 減少住院時間,以提高急診部門的能力。 
  • 提升患者滿意度評價

住院患者合理轉至VITAS時,我們以患者為中心的服務在提高醫院維持服務品質和競爭能力的同時,將為患者及其家屬帶來以下福利:

  • 轉移生命末期患者至家中
  • 安寧療護團隊每週平均為每位患者提供五至六次探訪服務。
  • 24小時聯絡掌握患者資訊的VITAS人員,並快速分配團隊成員至患者床前,全年365天7週24小時
  • 在患者家中、療養院或生活輔助社區進行持續性療護的輪值(若適合),直至症狀獲得控制
  • VITAS臨床醫事人員為95%患者提供臨終照護。

VITAS是療護轉換專家

療護轉換期間 ,患者最為脆弱:一個團隊將療護、關心和關注轉移至全新團隊,通常是全新的開始。唯一不變的是患者及其家屬。療護轉移處理失當和沒有後續追蹤,皆會引致需要加強醫療干預並極有可能再次住院。

就此而言,生命末期療護是兼具普通醫療服務的小體系。沒有安寧療護,生命末期會是一連串令人受創恐懼的電話、午夜衝往急診室、不斷的進出加護病房、痛苦和哀傷。有了安寧療護,便可改變這一系列情況、費用和患者及其家屬滿意度。

以下是VITAS處理療護轉換的方式:

  • 加護舒適療護®-加護舒適療護旨在避免再次住院,當患者有醫療需求時,可前往患者家中進行緊急護理。
  • 安寧療護住院病房 - 這裡是病患休養的靜謐之處,可為病患控制病症、管理用藥,且病患在此可感到舒適並享有尊嚴。
  • 醫師療護 - 許多住院病患有住院醫生照護,但回到家中就出現缺口。VITAS會在24小時內進行評估,且視需要安排安寧療護醫師至患者床前。如果病患醫師無法看診或需要我們的協助,VITAS臨床醫事人員會準備緩和療護/安寧療護討論。
  • 居家照護團隊 - 即使照護安排沒有變化,對患者及其家屬而言,住進VITAS會是一種轉變。團隊經理會透過電話來處理轉變的過渡,讓患者及其家屬了解後續情況。經理也知道家屬需要哪些電話號碼,以及如何查看藥物和用品的供應情形。
  • 主動電話查訪 - 無論是因為最近轉換或其他擔憂,VITAS都會在晚間和週末安排人員和義工接聽電話,以了解患者病情。整個VITAS團隊關注轉院需要:或許一次動物伙伴的到訪會有助於將病人轉入醫院,或退伍軍人聯絡人到訪會幫助家人度過喪慟時期。主動照護讓患者及其家屬知道VITAS值得信賴。 

VITAS會提高病患滿意度

VITAS為安寧療護病患及家屬提供多種生命末期選擇,遠超出一般所接受的標準,給予您的會員極大的優勢。您的會員不僅將獲得遍及全美的高品質且充滿愛心關懷的安寧療護服務,他們還將享受各種好處和便利,例如我們的24/7/365全天候Telecare服務與線上轉介服務。作為全美首選的安寧療護提供者,VITAS提供寶貴的利益,而這將會反映在您會員的滿意度得分上。

VITAS提高療護品質

35多年以來,VITAS每天都致力於優化患者照護,使過渡更容易、更高效、成本更低。作為美國的安寧療護領導者,我們承諾在生命末期療護方面的品質與創新。

VITAS已建立了設定安寧療護國家標準的臨床醫療準則。我們聘僱專職的安寧療護專家,從醫師到護士以及安寧療護護佐,然後為他們提供額外的加強訓練。其結果是,VITAS已經取得不言而喻的全國性成果。最重要的是,VITAS的臨床領導地位與專業知識,透過提供適當且有效的個人療護計劃以及有效的疼痛處理,已經為末期病人提高了生活品質。

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.

A Hospice Partnership: Working with VITAS

National Hospice Accounts

The VITAS National Accounts Department expands hospice access by establishing strategic partnerships with:

  • Managed Care Organizations
  • Care Management Companies
  • Assisted Living Companies
  • Long-Term Care Providers
  • Disease Management Companies
  • Hospital Systems

VITAS is committed to improving the quality of end-of-life care you offer your members, increasing patient and family satisfaction and helping your organization manage the medical cost ratio.

VITAS provides our partners with the tools they need to serve those patients who can benefit from quality, compassionate end-of-life care. These tools include:

  • Comprehensive Continuing Education Programs
  • Customized Reporting
  • Outcomes Research
  • Member Awareness Programs
  • Centralized Billing/Contract Administration
  • Dedicated National Account Manager

Healthcare is changing. Managed care is changing. Healthcare consumers are changing. VITAS can help.

Rising healthcare costs and implementation of the Affordable Care Act have set into motion countless studies, projects and initiatives designed to reduce costs, improve quality of care, and document measurable savings for government programs and managed care companies.

Hospitals are coping with new regulations and penalties for providing what is determined to be inappropriate care. Readmissions, in particular, are measured and monitored. Nationwide, public-private partnerships are being formed to, among other goals, reduce readmissions of high-risk Medicare recipients.

At the same time, healthcare reform is encouraging and enabling consumers to be more involved in their own well-being. They are better educated and more proactive than previous generations. They want to understand their illnesses, prognoses and options.

VITAS has more than 35 years of experience in improving the quality of end-of-life care, increasing patient and family satisfaction, and helping our partners overcome challenges in caring for chronic and terminally ill patients. We reduce costs, manage transitions from one care setting to another, work as a team and empower patients and families.

What can VITAS do for you?

As a national preferred hospice provider, VITAS can better care for your members in the most appropriate clinical setting at a lower cost.

VITAS reduces your cost of care

Palliative care in a hospice setting is much lower in cost than high-acuity care in a curative setting. Hospice care can eliminate expensive but futile medical procedures and unnecessary prescription drug therapies, reduce visits to the Emergency Department and reduce hospital admissions. This is particularly important for managed care organizations, which have the opportunity to shift costs out of the traditional medical setting entirely and into hospice care.

As the most efficient national hospice provider with sophisticated technical resources, VITAS is best equipped to work with national partners to offer quality, cost-effective care solutions. Just as importantly, VITAS can bring you new value by offering your members services not available through local, regional or other national hospice organizations.

Through support services including data sharing, continuing education and consultation on end-of-life care, VITAS is a trusted partner with large healthcare organizations across the country.

VITAS understands the palliative care model

Palliative care and hospice both care for patients with a high symptom burden who are seriously ill. VITAS is the palliative care expert, staffed with professionals who recognize the appropriate hospice patient and can help patients and families choose the model of care appropriate for them based on symptoms, goals, prognosis, culture and more.

  • Hospice is an interdisciplinary team caring for the actively dying.
  • Palliative care is a consultative physician and nurse practitioner model bringing hospice principles upstream to those with life-threatening—but not necessarily life-limiting—illness. 
  • Palliative care is for patients with serious, possibly life-threatening illness but with a prognosis greater than six months; it is appropriate at any point in a serious illness, simultaneous with disease-modifying treatment.
  • Palliative care and hospice care form a continuum model of care: where palliative care ends and hospice begins is a fluid border.

VITAS addresses readmissions

Hospitals judged to have unmet patient expectations, extensive lengths of stay, skewed mortality rates and costly readmissions are penalized by the government. By changing their care coordination paradigms, hospitals that partner with VITAS:

  • Provide a seamless system of care for their highest acuity patients near the end of life
  • Reduce utilization of intensive services, readmissions and mortality rates
  • Decrease lengths of stay  to improve Emergency Department capacities 
  • Enhance patient satisfaction scores

When a hospitalized patient is appropriately referred to VITAS, our patient-centered services enhance the hospital’s ability to remain viable and competitive while offering the patient and family these benefits:

  • Transitioning end-of-life patients to home
  • Providing an average of five to six visits per patient per week from our hospice team
  • 24-hour access to VITAS staff who have patient information and can quickly dispatch a team member to the bedside 24/7/365
  • Shifts of continuous care, when appropriate, in the patient’s home, nursing home or assisted living community until symptoms are under control
  • Death attendance by a VITAS clinician for over 95 percent of patients.

VITAS is the care transitions expert

It is during care transitions that patients are most vulnerable: when one team hands off care, concern and focus to a whole new team, often in a whole new setting. The only constant is the patient and family. Done improperly and without follow-up, care transitions lead to increased need for medical intervention and more likely hospital readmission.

In this respect, end-of-life care is a microcosm of the general healthcare scenario. Without hospice, the end of life can be a traumatic series of frightened phone calls, midnight trips to the ED, repeated vigils in an ICU, pain and anguish. Getting hospice into that scenario changes the journey, the costs, and patient and family satisfaction.

Here’s how VITAS treats care transitions:

  • Intensive Comfort Care®—Designed to avoid rehospitalization, Intensive Comfort Care brings emergency care to the patient’s home when medically necessary.
  • Inpatient hospice unit—This is often the oasis of calm where patients’ symptoms are controlled, medications are managed, and comfort and dignity are established.
  • Physician care—Many hospitalized patients are cared for by hospitalists, which leaves a gap when they return home. VITAS assesses its patients within 24 hours and can triage to get a hospice physician to the bedside as needed. VITAS clinicians are prepared to have the palliative/hospice discussion if the patient’s physician is unavailable or requests our help.
  • Home care team—Even without a change in care settings, being admitted to VITAS is a transition for both the family and the patient. Team managers address that transition with phone calls to let patient and family know what to expect and whom to expect. Managers also know what phone numbers the family needs and how to check on delivery  of medicine and supplies.
  • Proactive phone calls—Whether because of a recent transition or another identified concern, VITAS has staff and volunteers who place calls evenings and weekends to see how patients are doing. The whole VITAS team is alert for transition needs: Perhaps a visit from a Paw Pal will help transition a patient to hospice, or a visit from a veteran liaison will help a family member in the transition through bereavement. Proactive care lets patients and families know they can count on VITAS. 

VITAS increases patient satisfaction

VITAS provides multiple end-of-life choices for hospice patients and families that go well beyond the accepted standards, giving your members a significant advantage. Not only will they gain access to quality, compassionate hospice services across the country, but they also will enjoy benefits and conveniences such as our 24/7/365 Telecare services and online referrals. As a national preferred hospice provider, VITAS delivers valuable benefits that will be reflected in your own member satisfaction scores.

VITAS improves quality of care

For more than 35 years, VITAS has worked each day to optimize patient care and make transitions easier, more efficient and less costly. As America’s hospice leader, we are committed to quality and innovation in end-of-life care.

VITAS has established clinical protocols that set national hospice standards. We employ dedicated hospice experts, from physicians to nurses and hospice aides, and then provide them with additional extensive training. As a result, VITAS has achieved national outcomes that speak for themselves. Most importantly, VITAS’ clinical leadership and expertise have improved the quality of life for the terminally ill by providing appropriate, effective, customized care plans and effective pain management.