請即致電洽談。 1.800.890.8120

關於安寧療護工作的疑問

VITAS安寧療護職涯問題

越來越多人經驗到安寧療護提供者可在他們至親好友面臨死亡時提供巨大的福利。而且也有不斷增加的醫療專業人員親自經驗到提供高素質生命末期療護的挑戰與回報。

Search VITAS Healthcare jobs and apply online

對於許多醫療服務工作人員而言,安寧療護領域是個新體驗。他們可能曾聽說過許多關於安寧療護和照護末期病人的常見迷思,這使得一些準備加入安寧療護的工作者因此而產生了不少有趣的問題。 

請點選以下的問題,以獲得有關安寧療護就業的常見顧慮的解答:

問:每天照護末期病人,不會很沮喪嗎?

答:完全不會!事實上,我們許多員工發現為非常需要他們協助的病人及家屬服務,是令人振奮的事。置身在醫療似乎越來越失去人性的年代裡,安寧療護是親自提供療護的最後堡壘之一。VITAS員工每天都會獲得提醒,即他們所從事的領域是可以做出貢獻的。

優質安寧療護的關鍵在於:療護團隊的每個成員都知道並了解每位病患及其親人都是獨一無二的個體。此外,作為有效率的療護團隊基礎的支持也讓我們的臨床員工更感謝安寧療護經驗所帶來的回報。安寧療護工作讓許多臨床醫事人員想起當初選擇從事醫療服務行業的理由。

問:我習慣在醫院工作。要適應安寧療護居家療護團隊自我督導式的工作型態會不會很難?

答:我們的員工通常發現他們很容易適應且實際上很高興有個別獨立的工作排程,這排程是完全配合病人及其家屬的需要。

您想不想在一個每天的工作中有部分是提供一對一、親自實作療護的環境裡工作?與其做一名登錄員和為呼叫鈴疲於奔命,您何不運用您所有的診斷和評估技巧?這些都是作為安寧療護居家照護團隊一分子的好處。

問:我對於安寧療護完全沒有經驗。我將如何學習一些最佳方式以成為在這個環境裡有效率的照顧者?

答:經驗是強有力的老師。VITAS在訓練、教育和指導安寧療護照顧者方面,已有超過25年的經驗。關於提供優質生命末期療護,我們已累積了非常豐富的知識。我們互動式的訓練課程,是憑藉著依個人步調進行的學習、同儕支持和輔導來提升臨床員工的技巧和熟練度。

問:醫療越來越進步,安寧療護這一行會不會終將歇業?

答:正好相反,安寧療護是現今醫療服務業最快速成長的一環。現在平均的安寧療護病人比起25年前確實比較年長。但這是因為美國人口正在老化。85歲和更年長的同輩是美國最快速成長的人口族群,而此人口對於安寧療護將有越來越多的需求。

問:如何成為安寧療護病人?

答:安寧療護通常是在患者醫生提出正式要求「轉介」之後開始。一般是在病人處於較適合緩和療護的病況階段時才進行轉介。病人必須是在疾病以一般情況發展下,預估生命期為六個月或更短,才能進入安寧療護。

在VITAS會有辦理住院護士視訪病人及其家屬,向他們說明我們的服務和我們團隊所採用的療護方式。這個討論通常會涉及到病人的醫療照護事前指示和生命末期療護的選項與偏好。

簽署了必要的同意書後,病人便獲准進入安寧療護。病人接著接受更詳細的評估來建立一項基於醫療和社會心理需要的適當、個人療護計劃。計畫一擬定好,病人就被介紹給相關的團隊成員認識。 

問:病人過世後,你們為他們的家人做些什麼?

答:安寧療護特別之處在於所有聯邦醫療保險認證的業者都必須為病患的親人提供一年或更久的喪慟服務。在VITAS, 喪慟撫慰其實都明文記載於每位病人的療護計劃裡,也應該在病人過世之前就開始為其親屬提供支持。這是身處醫院加護病房的惡劣環境裡、走到生命終點的末期病人無法享受到的重要福利。

我們的喪慟撫慰有多成功?許多我們表現最好的安寧療護義工是在他們經歷過親人過世後的安寧療護喪慟撫慰,而加入我們以做出「回饋」。在許多情況、許多方式之下,與我們安寧療護團隊的關係仍持續著。

問:當您熟識病人及其家屬之後,要「放下」他們不是很難嗎?

答:我們的員工藉由參與追悼儀式和提供喪慟支持給服務過的病人之親屬而獲得安慰。他們也會想起在這些特別病人的生命末期所給予他們的別具意義的付出而彼此分享的回憶。

Call 1.800.890.8120 to
speak with someone today.

Questions about Working for Hospice

VITAS Hospice Care Career Questions

More and more individuals are experiencing the tremendous benefits that a hospice provider can offer when a loved one is facing death. And a growing number of medical professionals are experiencing firsthand the challenges and rewards of providing high-quality end-of-life care.

Search VITAS Healthcare jobs and apply online

For many healthcare workers, the hospice field is a new experience. They may, however, have heard many of the common myths about hospice care and working with the terminally ill—and that generates a host of interesting questions for prospective hospice workers. 

Click on the questions below to get answers about common hospice employment concerns.

Q: Isn’t it depressing to work with terminally ill patients every day?

A: Not at all! In fact, many of our staff find it uplifting to work with patients and families who truly need their assistance. In an age when medicine seems increasingly depersonalized, hospice care is one of the last bastions of hands-on care. VITAS employees get daily reminders that they are in a field where they can make a difference.

The key to good hospice care is that every member of an interdisciplinary team gets to know and understand each patient and his or her loved ones as unique individuals. In addition, the support that is the basis of an effective interdisciplinary team also helps our clinical staff appreciate the rewards of the hospice experience. For many clinicians, hospice work brings them back to the reasons they chose a career in healthcare.

Q: I’m used to working in a hospital. Is it hard to adjust to the self-directed work style of a hospice home care team?

A: Our staff often find that they easily adjust to and actually enjoy an independent schedule—one that is truly focused on the needs of patients and their families.

Wouldn't you like to work in an environment in which one-to-one, hands-on care is part of a typical day? Rather than being an order-filler and a slave to the call button, wouldn’t you like to use all of your diagnostic and assessment skills? These are the advantages of being a part of a hospice home care team.

Q: I don’t have any experience in hospice care. How will I learn about the best ways to become an effective caregiver in this environment?

A: Experience is a powerful teacher. VITAS has more than 25 years of experience in training, educating and mentoring hospice caregivers. We have developed an extensive body of knowledge about providing quality end-of-life care. Our interactive training program relies on self-paced learning, peer support and mentoring to further the skills and proficiency of our clinical staff.

Q: Won’t advances in medicine eventually put hospices out of business?

A: On the contrary, hospice is one of the fastest-growing components of healthcare today. The average hospice patient certainly is older today than 25 years ago. But this is because America is aging. The 85 and older cohort is one of the fastest-growing demographic groups in the United States, and this population will have an increasing need for hospice care.

Q: How does someone become a hospice patient?

A: Hospice care typically is initiated after a formal request for “referral” is made by a patient’s doctor. This generally occurs when the patient’s stage of illness makes palliative care the preferred choice for treatment. To be admitted for hospice care, a patient must have a life expectancy of six months or less if the disease runs its normal course.

At VITAS, an admissions nurse visits with patients and their families to describe our services and our team approach to care. This discussion usually addresses the patient’s advance directives and end-of-life care options and preferences.

After signing the required consent forms, the patient is admitted. He or she is then assessed further to develop an appropriate, individualized plan for care based on medical and psychosocial needs. With that plan in place, the patient is introduced to the relevant team members. 

Q: What do you do for the patient’s family after he or she dies?

A: Hospice care is unique in that all Medicare-certified providers are required to offer bereavement services to a patient’s loved ones for a year or more after the patient dies. At VITAS, bereavement care is actually written into each patient’s plan of care, and should begin with support for the family even before the patient’s death. This is an important benefit not available to terminally ill patients who reach the end of life in the harsh environment of a hospital intensive care unit.

How successful is our bereavement care? Many of our most remarkable hospice volunteers have joined us to “give back” after they experienced hospice bereavement care following the death of their loved ones. In many cases and in many ways, the relationship with our hospice teams continues.

Q: Isn’t it difficult to “let go” of patients and families after you get to know them?

A: Our staff finds comfort by participating in memorial services and providing bereavement support for the families of patients they have served. They also reflect on the memories they share with each other of the meaningful gift they gave to these special patients at the end of their lives.