請即致電洽談。 1.800.582.9533

來自艾咪的經驗

來自艾咪的經驗

艾咪‧路易絲‧菲爾奧(Emmy Louise Philhour)是VITAS的第一位病人,她是一位有趣、迷人、聰明又有決心的女人,教導我們許多關於安寧療護方面的事。艾咪是匹茲堡一位工業製造商的女兒,與暱稱菲爾的查爾斯‧菲爾奧 (Charles W. Philhour)結婚超過30年,查爾斯是在邁阿密大學 (University of Miami)長期任教的戲劇系教授。

艾咪和菲爾育有二子,分別是保羅和大衛。但經過數年後,一些朋友、學生、同仁和其他人都因為仰慕這對卓越夫妻和他們透過生活以身作則的典範,而紛紛加入了他們的家庭。

「他們將人們納入他們的生活圈裡,」菲爾在邁大的戲劇系學生卡蘿‧瑞特(Carol Reiter)回憶道。「艾咪和菲爾在我第一任丈夫離我而去時,拯救了我。我那時懷孕八個月。我不知道該怎麼辦、該往哪裡去,而艾咪敞開她家的門歡迎我。」

卡蘿對她說,「妳的恩情我如何報答得盡?」 艾咪說:「妳無法回報,但妳得在有機會時,將這份情傳遞給他人。」 這是卡蘿從艾咪‧菲爾奧學到的最偉大的一課。

當艾咪被診斷出罹患末期癌症時,菲爾成了她的主要照顧者。但是身為酷愛閱讀的讀者和獨立的思考者,艾咪對於一種稱為安寧療護的新概念很好奇,這種療護讓她有機會待在家裡有尊嚴地面對死亡。

保羅·菲爾奧(Paul Philhour)說他的母親「對不清不楚類型的治療並不真正感興趣。她即將死去,沒有人能夠改變這一點。」 她和菲爾都將安寧療護視為他們以前從未想到過的答案。就這麼湊巧,在適當時機出現在他們面前。

「我的母親始終按她想要的方式做事情,」保羅繼續說道。「當她登記參加安寧療護時,這對她而言很重要;她在做一件新的事情;她又一次『引領潮流』。她能夠在離開這個世界前做最後一次探險。」

菲爾一開始還很擔憂。一直到他認識了安寧療護人員之後,他才感到他們是在幫助他分擔他肩負的重任。「這給了我極大的幫助。安寧療護為我的父親提供了安全感,讓他感到身後有人在支持他,」保羅說道。

保羅與大衛‧菲爾奧(David Philhour)在他們的父母處於生命末期時幫忙照顧,且親自目睹安寧療護所帶來的力量。「我認為安寧療護成為艾咪的最終事業,以有尊嚴的方式死亡的權利,」大衛說道。 

卡蘿‧瑞特(Carol Reiter)同意說:「對於她志願成為安寧療護的第一個病人,我一點都不感到驚訝。她希望她的死亡對於跟在後面的每一個人都具有意義。」

這種先驅精神繼續在VITAS得到頌揚,卓越安寧療護服務艾咪菲爾奧獎(Emmy Philhour Award for Excellence in Hospice Service)年年都頒發。

Call 1.800.582.9533 to
speak with someone today.

Lessons from Emmy

Lessons From Emmy

Emmy Louise Philhour was VITAS’ first patient—a funny, fascinating, bright and determined woman who taught us much about hospice care. The daughter of an industrial manufacturer in Pittsburgh, Emmy was married for more than 30 years to Charles W. “Phil” Philhour, longtime professor of drama at the University of Miami.

Emmy and Phil had two sons, Paul and David. But over the years they accumulated an extended family of friends, students, colleagues and others who admired this extraordinary couple and the ideals that they exemplified throughout their lives.

“They gathered people into their lives,” recalls Carol Reiter, a drama student of Phil’s at UM. “Emmy and Phil came to my rescue after my first husband left me. I was eight months pregnant at the time. I didn’t know what to do or where to go, and Emmy opened her home to me."

Carol said to her, "How can I ever repay you?" Emmy said, "You can’t, but you have to pass it on to someone else when the opportunity knocks." This was Carol’s biggest lesson learned from Emmy Philhour.

When Emmy was diagnosed with terminal cancer, Phil became her primary caregiver. But as an avid reader and independent thinker, Emmy was intrigued by a new concept called hospice that offered her the chance to approach death with dignity in her own home.

Paul Philhour says his mother “wasn’t really interested in will-o’-the-wisp-type cures. She was dying and nobody was going to change that.” Both she and Phil saw hospice as an answer they hadn’t previously conceived. It came along at just the right time.

“My mother always did things the way she wanted to,” Paul continues. “When she signed on with hospice, it was important to her; she was doing something new; she was ‘cutting edge’ again. She was able to make a last adventure out of dying.”

Phil was more wary at first. It was only once he got to know the hospice people that he felt they were helping to take some of that responsibility off his shoulders. “That was enormously helpful. Hospice provided my father with the security that there was somebody behind him,” says Paul.

Paul and David Philhour helped care for both their parents at the ends of their lives and saw firsthand the empowerment that hospice brings. “I think hospice became Emmy’s final cause—the right to die in a dignified manner,” says David. 

Carol Reiter agrees: “I’m not at all surprised that she volunteered to be hospice’s first patient. She wanted her death to have meaning for everyone who came after her.”

That pioneering spirit continues to be celebrated at VITAS, where the Emmy Philhour Award for Excellence in Hospice Service is presented annually.